We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart restaurant, good service, delicious food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taste Restaurant and Cafe Bar

Taste Restaurant and Cafe Bar
Scarborough 8-10, The Esplanade | The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
0800 072 6137
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #201 of 304 Restaurants in Scarborough
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Smart restaurant, good service, delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We enjoyed a dish of calves' liver with caramelised onion and grain mustard gravy, mashed potatoes and green vegetables. The portions were so generous we sadly couldn't manage one of the tempting homemade puddings. The menu was varied and included tempting fish, risotto and pasta dishes besides meat and grills. We'll just have to go back another evening and try more of them!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    9
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ossett, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good Standard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Dined here on an evening with young children.
Didn't have a booking but were quickly accommodated.

A very good menu with a wide choice of meals from sandwich style meals to traditional dining.
We ordered baguettes which were very good indeed and a decent portion..
Service was excellent, efficient and friendly.

Would come again and try the full menu.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar E Lothian
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

excellent food we had lunch here and came back next day for tea would recommend it also good location

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“crown spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

lovely food and great service a little expensive though they also do a lovely english breakfast and continental as well

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarborough
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We book'd a birthday meal on sunday 24th Nov for the daughter, Four of us went sunday evening what a fantastic time we had and I must say it was all down the waiter call'd david he made the evening, He is 100% credit to the hotel , its a pitty there's not more people around giving service like he does, Thanks, With the kind or service he gives yes we will be going back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste Restaurant and Cafe Bar also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Taste Restaurant and Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste Restaurant and Cafe Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.