We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at the Sands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands - Sea Front Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Sands - Sea Front Apartments to your Saves list
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
5.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Peasholm Gap, Scarborough YO12 7TN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
pab180770
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Stay at the Sands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We recently stayed at The Sands Apartments for 3 nights, we booked a 2 bedroom Seaview Apartment.
Checking in was easy drove into secured parking, friendly helpfully staff, quality of the Apartment was top notch clean spacous all the modern appliances, you have welcome pack waiting bread,milk,tea coffee etc which helped and view was like you were in the sea it was that close listening to the sea rolling at night wih a glasss of wine on the balcony was very relaxing.
You have DVD and Wi machine and can check out from reception free films and games and they have a wide choice this kept my son happy while rest of us relaxing.
By partner and Daughter used the on site Gym again clean and all the equipment you need for a work out.
You have nice bar below the Blue Crush bar to call in on your way home after a long day sightseeing service excellent food also a cafe for breakfast and local store for food and drinks very confinient.
the 109 bus stops right outside which runs you down to other side as far as the Spa which helps if the walk to long or raining.
We will be rebooking for a short break agian next year superb:-)

Room Tip: pick a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    40
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
263
120
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at the Sands for four nights and I thought it was fantastic. Really friendly welcome and the apartment was big and really clean. It also had everything you could want in a holiday apartment, including the bread and milk on arrival, a great touch! The location on the beach was lovely, and just a short walk from Peasholm park and the sealife centre. We really enjoyed our break, as did our 2yr old son, and I would definitely recommend the Sands to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The location of the hotel and its views are superb. Plenty of places to walk and great amenities within yards. However, that's about its only USP. Our master bedroom was situated beside the stairwell. Ingenious planning which results in a night, and morning, of interrupted sleep as the door to the car park slams over, and over, and over again. This complemented by the poorly soundproofed windows overlooking the car park. Deposits for Wii controllers are puzzling. If one was going to borrow a controller and fail to return it, then one would naturally expect to have the cost charged to their debit card; somehow a deposit on top of the £200 per night is just one of The Sands' ways to question the integrity of customers. Another, from my personal experience, is when I returned home and noticed that I had left something in the room. I called immediately and was reassuringly told that the item had been recovered by housekeeping and that they had it there. After being told by reception that they would post it back and charge the postage to my debit card (first 5* place I've come across that charge to return lost property) I instead advised that a family member would pick up in two weeks' time (when they were visiting Scarborough) and was told that this is perfectly fine. Two weeks later, I was issued a letter advising that "no item was left in my apartment" and reminding me that they are not responsible for lost property. Granted, the culpability for losing the item is entirely my own, but to tell me that the item was recovered and then send me a letter telling me that they don't think I left the item in their apartment is disgusting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

All we can say as a family is that this property is superb in every way! We have been to some wonderful places over the past few years including Florida and Tenerife, and these apartments hold their own ,in comparison with the top resorts across the world. Thats all we will say ; the rest is up to you all to discover and enjoy! You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had a lovely long weekend in apartment 203 although it wasn't a sea view you can see the sea from the balcony, the apartment was lovely and had everything you need, they are a good size especially with 2 teenage sons, they were also more than happy as the apartment even had wifi, the apartment was lovely and clean well decorated and modern, the main bedroom had ensuite bathroom, and a second bathroom for the second room
we would definitely recommend them to anyone. The walk along marine drive is about 1 1/2 miles, so if the weather is ok this is a nice walk or you can catch the bus from outside the apartments and leave your car in the secure car park
we also went for a curry one evening to the Tandoori in the centre of town, would recommend it if you like a curry

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
364 reviews 364 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

After enjoying a wet three nights in July in Kepwick Apartment 216 we are spending a foggy three nights in Lockton Apartment 404. It is now 15.30 and for the first time I can see the horizon! Having said that about the weather, apart from us not venturing out as much as we would have liked, our stay has not been spoiled. We have used the free wii to play Baseball, Tennis and Bowling. We did have to get help from a nice young lady to set it up but as there was something stuck in the box it was not surprising it didn't work for us. The offending box was immediately replaced. Having sat and thought about the two apartments, we both prefer 216. Although the bedroom in it is smaller, the lounge is bigger and being on the 2nd floor we can see the beach and the many dogs running about on the sands and into the sea, something that cannot be seen from the 4th floor lounge furniture.

We shall definitely return having found somewhere that although is not home, feels darn close! Although next time, please please let us have decent weather!!!

Room Tip: From the 2nd Floor Sea Front you can sit in the lounge and watch people/dogs on the beach as well as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just returned from 5 days staying in the Sands with our 3 grandchildren.
From arrival to departure, everything was perfect. The apartment had every conceivable device including wi-fi and Wii and was as new. We were even left a welcoming supply of bread butter milk jam etc to ensure we had something when we arrived. The rooms were large and spacious and the bathrooms large and well equipped. The whole set up is perfect and we would recommend to anyone travelling to Scarborough to try it out. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and supply DVD's and books if required. Also a mention for a restaurant called Florios on Aberdeen Walk in Scarborough which was excellent for family dining. Best to book

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sands - Sea Front Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands - Sea Front Apartments

Address: Peasholm Gap, Scarborough YO12 7TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sands - Sea Front Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and contemporary, these 5-star luxury apartments have a magnificent location on Scarborough’s North Bay, on Yorkshire's rugged and beautiful East Coast. The Sands are luxurious, award-winning apartments and have been given a 5-star rating by VisitBritain. All apartments have modern 5-star furnishings, flat-screen TVs, DVD players and designer kitchens and bathrooms. The bathrooms come complete with luxurious toiletries and bathroom products from Elemis. Each sea-view Apartment has a grand balcony, where you can look out to Scarborough Castle and admire the stunning sea views. Every apartment is allocated a free parking space in the secure car park. There is a state-of-the-art gym for the exclusive use of guests, as well as a rooftop sun terrace with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Sands - Sea Front Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments Hotel Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands - Sea Front Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.