We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Peaceful Retreat... Exquisite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harmony Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Harmony Country Lodge to your Saves list
Harmony Country Lodge
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   80 Limestone Rd | Burniston, Scarborough YO13 0DG, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Leven Fife Scotland
1 review
“A Peaceful Retreat... Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Harmony Lodge and what a great stay it was. The Lodge is set in peaceful tranquil grounds with great countryside views. We arrived just before booking in time but Tony greeted us and immediately showed us to our room he even helped me with our luggage as we are both disabled. My husband has great difficulty in walking, he uses two sticks and even though there is no ramp the low rise wide steps are easily traversed. Our friend was having a Blessing ceremony performed there and the little Church of St Paul was beautiful and tastefully decorated. Even the wildlife visit regularly. A badger visits every night, we actually missed seeing him which was a pity. Breakfast was wonderful, good choice of cereals prior to a full English cooked the way you like, lovely toast made from a variety of breads and prompt service there was no rush to get the diners out of the dining room. We will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    23
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
81
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

If your looking for a place to get away from the stress of life, the Harmony Country Lodge is the place to go. From the minute you go up the drive, you enter a peaceful environment where relax and chill out are the order of the day. The owners, Sue and Tony, have really got the definition of friendly, off to a fine art, and from the welcome at the beginning, to the goodbye at the end of your stay, both demonstrate why my wife and I would have no problem recommending the Harmony Country Lodge, as one of the best bed and breakfast establishments in the country. Thank you to all fo our lovely 3 night stay, we really regret it couldn't have been longer, but maybe again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Had a fantastic weekend, brilliant position Scarborough one way Whitby the other and if the coast isn't your thing York and Pickering not far away. Great views from the lounge and a great breakfast. Very relaxed atmosphere, recommend to anyone. Super place to stay and base a trip from. Gary

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We booked a two night stay enjoyed it that much we booked an extra night.Ideal location for moores and coast. Lovely views from bedroom. cracking breakfast. smashing host. Highly recommended. Geg and Rita Hall Lincolnshire.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I booked this one night stay the day before after looking for somewhere near to Scarborough or Whitby and we got both. On the north side of Scarborough, just off the road to Whitby this is an ideal place to stop if you want to visit either or both resorts. Sue gave us some useful information and then showed us straight to our room, which was not huge but was plenty big enough for the 2 of us, with a generous en-suite.
We rested - on a very comfortable bed - before walking into Burniston village for an evening meal. The nearest pub (listed in our room info) is closed and looked as though it had been for some time but the next one The Oak Wheel was lovely.
We had a good night's sleep and a plentiful breakfast (provided by Tony) in a tasteful dining room before heading off to Whitby. I would recommend The Harmony for anyone who wants a relaxing stay in a lovely country setting with very pleasant hosts who seem to welcome dog owners.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tosh14, Owner at Harmony Country Lodge, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you Christine although I am sorry that I didn't really see much of you until you were leaving. The pub in question - The Three Jolly Sailers, has been temporarily closed for about 6 weeks now as presumably the brewery are having to find new tenants/manager. The Oak Wheel which is about 200 yards round the corner is probably the best place around for food as it has a very good reputation. I look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Sheila and I have just spent a short break at a top hotel in the south . The quality of the stay, the staffs atitude ,the food and hospitality there was far inferier to the excelent time we had at The Harmony.We hope to return later in the year.That is of course if their feline friends will accept our lurcher,blue.Tony is a most agreable host,a fantastic hotel,great breakfast and he has an excelent local knowledge.We would recomend a stay at this unique hotel to anyone looking for a stay in such a peaceful setting. Ray and Sheila Dicken, Derbyshire

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

went on the spur of the moment hadnt booked anywhere, glad i didnt. was driving around looking for somewhere. saw a couple of places then i saw harmony. i had a lovely night stay good sound sleep and then a fantastic breakfast. i shared a few experiences with tony before i left. i would gladly recommend a stay whether it be short or long it was nice to be away from the hustle and whatever else happens in the town centres. i will be visiting again later this month.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harmony Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Country Lodge

Address: 80 Limestone Rd | Burniston, Scarborough YO13 0DG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harmony Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A highly recommended octagonal country retreat in 2 acres of private grounds, close to Scarborough and with 360 degree panoramic views of the sea & National Park. Pets are welcome by arrangement. Private off-road parking. Licensed. A static 2 bedroom caravan is also available in the grounds for self-catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Harmony Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harmony Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.