We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avril & Geoff Bishop Auckland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brontes Guest House

Brontes Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Brontes Guest House to your Saves list
Brontes Guest House
135 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
durham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Avril & Geoff Bishop Auckland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

just got back today after a verry relaxing 2 day break, we did originally book a room at the grand hotel on the sea front but after reading the reviews BAD BAD BAD we cancelled and booked the Bronties instead so glad we did, Eric & Karina have it down to a fine art friendly warm & welcoming, going the extra mile letting you know which restaurants to eat in ( fantastic food in all italian, indian, and local chippy) our room was modern clean and a BED so comfy i wished i could carry it home.we would recommend this guest house to all familly & friends (you will not be disapointed) Well done Eric & karina hope to see you soon. Had a great week all round even england is winning. x

Room Tip: most doors were open (sorry but had a sneeky peep) & all rooms were as nice as ours.we were at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eric w, Owner at Brontes Guest House, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I twas a pleasure meeting you both and we hope that we will see you again sometime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    12
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
46
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We decided on a short break at the last minute and we are so glad we found this little b&b, our hosts were so friendly and helpful, the room was excellent and we thought the cost represents great value for money - we have paid a lot more for getting a lot less in the past and would certainly recommend this perfect little seaside guest house to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Very dated hotel with faded bedding and old towels. Thin walls so that it is like other guests are sharing same room (you can hear everything). This hotel advertises good views but having booked 2 rooms we found one was looking over the bins and had a old fashioned tv and not flat screened as advertised, Due to no sleep because of noise and discomfort we only stayed one night and got a refund for the following night, The hosts were quite unsympathetic about the inconvenience this caused us and seemed more worried they had lost £100,

Room Tip: Room 4 - Matress really hard, like sleeping on the floor. Room 6- View onto bins at the back, old f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

My partner and I have just spent 2 nights at Brontes, and can only say what a relaxing and welcoming guest house it is. Both the guest rooms and public areas are spotlessly clean, breakfast was thoroughly enjoyable (and plentiful!), and we were made to feel very comfortable. Having our own front door key was a bonus, no curfews to adhere to, and the owners were readily available with friendly tourist advice and recommendations. We can highly recommend Brontes to anyone thinking of heading to Scarborough for any occasion.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Me and my parnter have had 3 short breaks, staying in Scarbourough at Brontes guest house. The rooms are lovely, having stayed in three different ones, including a four poster room which is lovey - great for special occasions.

The owners of the guest house are incredibly friendly, approachable and always provide a warm welcome upon arrival. They are very informative as to the surrounding area and best places to visit and are always willing to offer assistance when needed.

The B&B we find is very reasonably priced, in particular if you book out of season - over the winter months - you can get a very good rate, see their website for special offers.

Breakfast is lovely, nearly everything available.. very good selection!

Will be returning again towards the end of the year.

Room Tip: All three rooms we have stayed in are presented to the highest standard, are equally comfortable and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

My husband and I have just had 2 nights at the Brontes. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, the breakfast was lovely and nothing was too much trouble for the hosts. Would definitely recommend and would stay there again. I would add that I spent many years in travel and have stayed in hotels all over the world and did wonder if we would be happy staying in a B&B but had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Everything you need from a B & B at a very reasonable price. Nice hosts who know their business, warm professional welcome, very clean throughout, comfy bed, great breakfast - check out the fried eggs. We would definitely re-visit and recommend to friends. Thank you for a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brontes Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brontes Guest House

Address: 135 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family-run guest house on North Bay near Peasholm Park and within 10 mins of beach and town centre. All rooms double glazed, centrally heated with colour TV and DVD player, hospitality tray. Excellent English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Brontes Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brontes Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.