We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd stay at Olivers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olivers

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olivers
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   34 West Street, Scarborough YO11 2QP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 180 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Tyne & wear
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“3rd stay at Olivers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just back from our 3rd stay at Olivers with perfect hosts Liz & Dave lovely clean hotel excellent food comfortable rooms everything you could possibly want & loads of free parking a definite plus for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

can not recommend this hotel enough.bright and spotlessly clean throughout.the breakfast are excellent with top quality ingredients.David andLiz are warm and friendly nothing being to much t trouble Hotel is at the quitter end of town nice for a good nights sleep in the extremely comfortable beds can not wait to return and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone wanting a holiday in scarborough.

Room Tip: front rooms sunny back rooms cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We arrived over an hour earlier than planned but thought that we might be allowed to leave our stuff so we rang the bell. Liz answered the door & greeted us like we were old friends that she had known years which was fabulous! I explained that we were early but she said it wasn't a problem & that our rooms were ready & we were very welcome to go straight up. David appeared & we all introduced ourselves, they are a lovely, friendly couple and we really did feel we had known them years! We had booked two double rooms,one for myself & my husband and one for my son & daughter-in-law.and were taken to the rooms on the top floor. The rooms were very nicely decorated, spacious & spotlessly clean with towels & toiletries provided. There was also a kettle so we could make drinks with the tea, coffee, milk, sugar, sweeteners & biscuits provided. After a very comfortable nights sleep we went down to a scrumptious breakfast, there was a selection of fruit, yoghurt, cereal & fruit juice to start then a choice of full English breakfast or eggs(scrambled or poached) on toast, omelette or bacon sandwiches. My husband, son & I all chose the full English & my daughter-in-law had scrambled eggs on toast. The food was delicious and freshly cooked to perfection and we all enjoyed the choice we had made plus there was tea and toast as standard. We enjoyed our one night stay so much we wish we had booked for longer but, unfortunately, due to work commitments we couldn't. We will definitely stay again and for longer next time. I actually had a text from a friend during breakfast asking if I could recommend anywhere to stay in Scarborough! I immediately told her that Oliver's was the place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed at Olivers in West Street Scarborough for two nights recently. It was chosen for me by a friend, and I was very grateful for the recommendation. My room was at the top of the house, and was large, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was ample, and delicious. The hosts were friendly and kind and showed just the right blend of discreet attention. I would certainly stay at Olivers again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I were extremely happy with our stay here. The hosts were friendly yet unintrusive, the whole hotel was very clean throughout and the breakfast was faultless and cooked to order with what were clearly high quality ingredients. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We booked online for this stay as we were off to a wedding in Scarborough.

On arrival at 2.30 pm we were greeted by the hostess who offered a warm welcome and showed us to our room. We had Room 4 which was to the front of the house. The room was clean and well appointed with everything you would expect, plus lots of towels. Only thing was it was a little cold as no heating was on.

We headed off to do a few thing, not far to walk into the centre Scarborough, about 10 to 15 minutes. On our return the heating had kicked in so was warming up the room.

The shower was fine with toiletries provided.

We got back after midnight and the room was a bit cold as the heating had shut off again, the bed was comfortable but we did feel cold all night which made for a poor nights sleep. The heating came back on about 7am but either the radiator was inadequate or not functioning correctly, but by the time we heading off for breakfast at 8.30 is was not really warming the room.

Breakfast was great, service was prompt and friendly, I had a Full English with a poached egg instead of a fried one, my wife had a Mushroom Omelette which was crammed full of fresh mushrooms. There was also a selection of Fruit, Cereals & Juices available for self service.

Would recommend this place to anyone travelling to Scarborough, If it is a cold night you might need to ask for an extra blanket.

P.S. Friends staying at the same time said their room was warm Room 3. So it might have been our room only.

Room Tip: Room 4 was spacious but a little cold in November.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frimley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed at Olivers for 2nd time this weekend, arrived 9 .00 pm friday night but still got a very friendly welcome, room was spotless and very comfortable, bathroom the same, breakfast all freshly cooked and very tasty, the owners treat as one of the family and are very obliging, we will def book here next time in Scarborough As i said in title "Superb Stay" !!!

Room Tip: book early !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivers

Address: 34 West Street, Scarborough YO11 2QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivers 4*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olivers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Olivers to your Saves list