We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We won't stay anywhere else in Scarborough!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dolphin Guesthouse to your Saves list
Dolphin Guesthouse
151 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Sheffield, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We won't stay anywhere else in Scarborough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Scarborough is our favourite seaside town and we have stayed at The Dolphin on many occasions. The reason is simple - it has everything you want in guest house. The rooms are clean and cosy, the beds comfortable, and the bathrooms clean and bright. The location is perfect for the quieter North Bay, and just across the road from the beautiful Peasholm Park.
The Dophin is owned and managed by the wonderful Gary, whose customer service and manners are exemplary. He is the most friendly, genuine man and we always look forward to seeing him when we are going to Scarborough. His cooked breakfasts are FANTASTIC - piping hot, perfectly cooked and plentiful.
We love The Dolphin so much we chose to spend our honeymoon there and it was just perfect. We seriously would not consider staying anywhere else when we visit Scarborough. The price per night offers excellent value for money (currently £27 I believe) and I don't see how it could be bettered.
Parking on Columbus Ravine isn't usually a problem even though the road is busy. Gary provides guests with permits to last the whole stay and it's usually fairly easy to park either right outside or close by.
We're just about to book again for a long weekend in November. I can't wait to get there!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
26
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

for a good b&b that is affordable for an odd night try the dolphin, clean tidy basic rooms, good breakfast, and very good location for peasholme park and north bay, proprieter very helpful of whats on and what to do

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Lovely welcoming guesthouse. Myself and my 2year old were made to feel right at home. The owner and staff could not possibly have been more accommodating or helpfull.

Rooms were very clean and lovely en suite facilities. Free wifi signal isn't brilliant but seriously who cares about that really?! Breakfast was very generous and beautifully cooked.

My next weekend in Scarborough will include this guesthouse it is by far the best of the four I've used in recent years.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The owner of this b&b was very friendly and helpful and the room was comfortable and clean. The b&b was within walking distance of town, train station and beach. I have stayed here now on two occasions and both stays have been lovely and many thanks to the b&b owner for making us welcome and our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Only stayed for one night but its a nice place to stay and would recommend this place and gladly use again if in the area. The room was ensuite, it was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was of good size and tasted lovely. Well impressed. For the price we paid it was worth every penny and the owner deserves a big thank you. Only about ten minutes walk into town so nicely positioned too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

A typical terraced seaside B & B but with a very welcoming interior. The proprietor, Gary, is an excellent host, nothing was too much trouble for him to make our stay comfortable. Our double room was two flights up but he carried our suitcases so no problems there. The room was small but spotless with en-suite bathroom and constant hot water,(without the plumbing problems as experienced by your reviewer) A full sized English breakfast was included which was more than sufficient to start our day. The property is situated some distance from Scarborough town centre but it is really only a problem if you are on foot. About 5 minutes driving time is all it takes. There is a very nice park only a couple of minutes walking time away. All in all, we would have no hesitation in booking this guesthouse for future stays.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed for two nights in the family room - two parents and three teenagers - during the Easter break. Family rooms for five are rare as hen's teeth so finding this was a big tick straight away. Gary is a fabulous host - hardworking and very welcoming. He took specific orders for breakfast upon arrival and didn't need to be reminded on either of the mornings...and the breakfasts were delicious - just what was needed for a day walking the Cleveland Way to Filey.

The main room was clean and had a refreshments tray. Beds were comfortable. Hairdryer was available. I am loathed to give criticism but our stay could have been perfect had the bathroom been better. The plumbing between the toilet and the basin were somehow linked, such that flushing the toilet made water (not from the toilet!) bubble up out of the basin plughole and turning on the basin tap set the pumped toilet growling very loudly! The bathroom decor also needs updating and the wallpaper is not good fit for the wall in some places.
But generally, we had a really good stay and Gary gave the kids an Easter egg each upon our departure - a lovely touch and one which was really appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Guesthouse

Address: 151 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Dolphin Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.