We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“norbreck hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Norbreck Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Norbreck Hotel
Save
You added Bay Norbreck Hotel to your Saves list
Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BREAKS FROM JUST £83
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
kent
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“norbreck hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just returned from a 5 day stay at the Norbreck with Shearings. We had a lovely time, hotel was warm, very warm! clean and lovely friendly staff. We were unable to upgrade to a room with a seaview, however, we had a view of the church and partial sea view, all be it through the iron fire escape! Our room was only cleaned once during our stay but it wasn't a problem. Also met some really lovely people, very happy and jolly! Especially Valentine and Colin whom we shared our meal table with. Would most certainly do this trip and any other with Shearings again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your comments fussyanna, it's lovely to hear you enjoyed your short break with us. We are very appreciative of the views which we have from the hotel over the gorgeous North Bay and accross St Mary's Church to the South Bay. Our housekeeping staff do work everyday and i can only apologise if they did not service your room each day as they should have. We look forward to welcoming you at the hotel again and hope you enjoy any further holidays that are featured in our brochures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    102
    48
    26
    25
See reviews for
22
148
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at the Norbreck Hotel on a Shearings self drive for 4 nights in November. We received a warm and friendly welcome on arrival from the reception staff. The room was clean and met all our requirements with tv, drink making facilities and a lovely sea view. The food was good, and staff were very accomodating when finding alternative choices to menu items. We had entertainment every night (some good, some not so good). All the staff were very friendly and helpfull. We had a waitress called Jenna who was brilliant and really looked after us. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff through out the hotel. Hotel was clean and very warm through out which was welcomed as it was cold outside. Would recommend and revisit. Keep up the good work.
Thanks again for your hospitality. Ana & John (Maple Lodge Skeggy)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you Ana and John for taking the time to send in your review. We do try to give all our customers a warm welcome, especially in the cold weather as November is turning out to be. Jenna was very pleased to see what you wrote about her and her service in the restaurant as were the rest of the staff when i passed on your comments. Our entertainments do vary night to night to cater for all tastes so there is almost always something to suit everyone during the week. I hope to see you back in Scarborough in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKEGNESS
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We Have Just returned from a monday to friday break at the NORBRECK HOTEL,we found it a lovely homely hotel, THE staff were very helpful and did there upmost to make our stay nice, My husband is a rather fussy person with his food and they went out of there way to make sure he had something he liked tomato soup being his favorite starter, The room,s were cosy and warm sometimes to warm LOL and there was everything we needed a bath and a shower was a bonus, The veiw from our bedroom window was really lovely of the bay and cliffs, All in all no complaints THANK,YOU NORBRECK FOR A GREAT STAY.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hi Teresa & Roy, thank you for your great review! The staff are thrilled to know you spoke so highly of them and chef said it was a pleasure to cater for the 'fussy' diner as you call yourself. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My pal and i just spent four nights at the Scarborough Bay Norbreck on a Shearings holiday. The hotel has a superb position with wonderful views. Unfortunately we could not enjoy the views until the third day as the mist never cleared! Our room was not ready on arrival but we were kindly offered a free drink while we waited the ten minutes for the room to be ready. The room had been completely refurbished and we were the first to occupy it. It (Room 208). It was clean, spacious, well equipped with brand new beds. The bathroom was also spacious with a bath and shower. We did not book a room with a sea view but when the mist lifted on the third day we discovered we had a lovely sea view to the harbour over St Mary's church where Anne Bronte is buried. The view was partially obscured by the fire escape but at least we felt safe!
There was a good choice of food both at breakfast and dinner which was good value for the price that we paid. One cannot expect cordon bleu dining and turn down service in a budget hotel. We had a very pleasant and super efficient Asian waitress on the first three days who deserves a special mention. The nightly entertainment was very good. I was disappointed that there was not a reasonably priced house wine at dinner, the cheapest cost £14.95. Hardly anyone purchased wine but had there been a reasonable choice of house wine at around £9.95 the hotel would have no doubt increased their profit considerably.
There are scenic walks down hill into both the town and harbour and funicular railways from the beach area to the town to ease the walk up hill back to the hotel.A very pleasant holiday - recommended

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thanks for your review Cliff, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. It was such a shame that the fog held for so long but at least it lifted before you had to go home as you would have missed the views altogether. I will pass your comments on to Flo in the restaurant, she will be thrilled to know you appreciated her hard work, as will the entertainments team. I will pass your comments regarding the bottled wine to our purchasing team so they can be considered when we look at reviewing our wine lists shortly. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Wife and I (in our 60's) spent a week in October 2012 at the Norbeck. The room was good with a sea view, food was pretty good for a 2 star hotel and the staff were very friendly and efficient. It was a great week and a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
It is lovely to read your review woodwardtwo, October saw it's fair share of sunshine and we are glad you enjoyed a bit of it with us here at the Norbreck, looking out at the views. I will make sure all your comments are passed on at our next meeting as the staff will be so happy to know you mentioned them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just back from a shearings 5 day tour,staying at the norbreck,and were pleasently surprised. The tours were well informative and well organised with visits to york,whitby,bridlington and a few other small trips that were a bonus,but be warned especially in york that some of the museums ec can be expensive,so limit it to just a couple of places that you really want to see.the hotel norbreck was quite a pleasant hotel,some parts have been newly decorated and some parts havent,with decoraters in the hotel as we were there,but they were discreet and didn't get in your way. The food is fair to good with a choice of breakfast and dinner menus,but these are limited,entertainment was ok but a couple of the acts were very good,and the compares especially daniel were very friendly as were the staff.Our seaview room was an added bonus with a great view of the north sea,also the norbreck is positioned on the top of the cliffs at the north shore end of scarbrough,with the anne bronte grave literlally around the corner and the castle 10mins away on the very top of the cliff. So yes a very happy and pleasant little break at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi Mike & Brenda. Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and the staff, they are much appreciated. That's a good tip for others about visting York, there is so much to do there it can soon get expensive, although the National Railway Museum by the train station is free! I'm glad you enjoyed your break and all the visits in the local area and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

me and my wife both really enjoyed our stay at the norbreck, the hotel is having some refurbishments but they didn't interfere with the guests stay. entertainment was very good. our room was clean the trips to york, heartbeat country and whitby were excellent, all the drivers went out of their way to help as did the hotel staff. only gripe was some of the food was not to my likening, overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you john h for your review, it's good to know you enjoyed you stay with us. Thank you for noticing the refurbishment which was taking place, the contractors did a good job not distrupting customers too much. The staff are very pleased to see you found them helpful as they do all try so hard to help customers as much as they can. Sorry if not all our food was to your liking, we do have a varied menu to try and ensure there is something for everyone. Maybe we will see you back in sunny Scarborough soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Norbreck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Norbreck Hotel

Address: Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on the headland, near Scarborough's ancient castle ruins, the Norbreck is the only hotel in town which looks out over both the North and South Bays, with breathtaking panoramic sea view. From this peaceful location you can rest in the convivial atmosphere of the bar lounge or in the comfort of the restaurant and savour the scenic sights of golden sands and ocean waters. In the hub of the town itself, lying just ten minutes' away, there is an array of shops and holiday attractions. While a day trip takes you to York or to see the moors, to test your nerves at Flamingo Land or to revisit 'Brideshead' at Castle Howard. There's such a lot to see and do in the area! The hotel does not have a car park. However street parking is available nearby. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Norbreck Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.