We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lifetime Memorable Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moore's Restaurant

Moore's Restaurant
6 Greenbank, High Street, Newton Poppleford, Sidmouth EX10 0EB, England
+44 1395 568100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 56 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Price range: $24 - $44
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: A small intimate friendly restauarnt offering local produce at reasonable prices. Crisp white table linen and fresh flowers. An impressive wine list. All set in relaxed surroundings
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Lifetime Memorable Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Living in London and you have plenty of choice for restaurants. Visiting Devon over a weekend, and Oh My Goodness - what an amazing meal. Just so totally out of the blue, recommended by local gardeners (Yes you, David and Peter!). This is an absolute gem. Do NOT drive by as you go through Newton Poppleford. This has to be visited to be believed. A small, comfortable, warm and cosy restaurant (with B&B available) offers you a hearty welcome. 100% perfect service, complimented with fabulous food. Menu changes regularly apparently and all 5 main and sweet dishes on our visit looked photographically stunning, (as well as other patrons' dishes)! Find me a match in London that can equal the service and quality of food here. This is a must for locals, passers by, visitors and food critiques too. You won't be disappointed, even if you have to contend with current hideous road diversions. Can't wait to return again - this was without a doubt, a Lifetime Memorable Meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    11
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sidmouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food in East Devon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Had an excellent lunch at Moore's on 20 Oct 2013. Warm welcome, comfortable ambience, fairly short but interesting and varied menu. Had Red Gurnard for the first time ever - lovely, delicate fish despite its forbidding experience when whole! The sensible wine list has recently been expanded and I was tempted into trying an unusual (for this country) Portuguese white - an Esporao from Alentejo. Food and wine very sensibly priced, service very smooth.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderfull food excellent service. Ann & Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Probably the best kept secret in Devon. An amazing experience a professional husband and wife team that produce food to die for with exceptional attention to detail and service by all the team.We shall return

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We booked a night here at the last minute, we arrived a few hours after booking and was greeted at the door, s gown our room and presented with a cup of tea within minutes! We were there for our wedding anniversary and had an amazing meal, beautifully cooked and more beautifully decorated, the venison was just gorgeous, and I could have eaten the crab and leek Thermidor again and again! The hospitality given by Kate and the other waitress was very attentive but not too much, striking a correct balance. The room was adequate enough for our needs, a comfortable bed with a tv and a sink in the bedroom. We would definitely go back if in the area again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great experience from start to finish. We have eaten in many restaurants around the world and this was definitely up there with the best. The food was superb and the summer fruit pavlova a delight. Excellent value for money. Can't wait to go back

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moore's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Moore's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moore's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.