We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant fab wonderful ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal York & Faulkner Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Royal York & Faulkner Hotel to your Saves list
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant fab wonderful ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Brilliant service, fab food and wonderful stay!! We were very surprised this hotel wasn't a 3-4 star. We stayed during miserable weather but that didn't dampen the weekend at this lovely hotel. Cafe blinis lunch was absolutely outstanding and not to be missed

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you so much for the review. Try as we might, we’ve had no luck in arranging the weather! We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    64
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
36
98
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Royal York and Faulkner hotel. which was very enjoyable. The staff were all very helpful and the food was good. New Years Eves gala dinner was excellent as was the following entertainment and dancing. At midnight a piper appeared to play Auld Lang Syne.
The bedroom was very comfortable and nicely furbished and overall we were very satisfied.
We shall certainly be thinking of returning there again for next New Year.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us over New Year. We’d be very pleased to welcome you back for this year’s festivities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We made our first visit to the Hotel for a Tinsel and Turkey weekend as part of a coach party. The Hotel staff were very Friendly the rooms clean and the food good. It was ment to be a Turkey and Tinsel break very dissapointed in this the decorations were very few no Tinsel in sight. The Christmas theme consisted of a turkey dinner where the waiting staff wore santa hats crackers on the table no festive music no christmas atmosphere. A candlelit dinner one night with 1 candle per table and the lights on. The hotel while nice was very very hot uncomfortably so. They also had a unhealthy fixation with Hygenie. Dont think we will return

Room Tip: Ask for a sea veiw otherwise all you will see is the back yard and roof tops
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel over many years but this time we were disappointed. We found staff impersonal, the restaurant like a military operation, the tables too close together and the standard of food not as good as on previous visits. Afternoon tea was welcome but perhaps an afternoon or evening quiz might be an idea as the weather was not ideal. The flower arrangements could do with updating and the reception staff could be more welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My sister and I visited this hotel in October 2013, as a member of a coach party.
We found the management/reception staff to be unwelcoming and as a member of a coach party we were made to feel like second class citizens. There was no option on time of dinner, it had to be at 7pm and our table in the dinning room was at the back where it was hot and airless - no sign of ceiling fans or air conditioning. Tables near the windows were reserved for 'private' guests and could not be allocated to us. Our 'room with a nice view' was situated over the kitchens overlooking the delivery yard where vans started unloading before 6am. The hotel's computer system was unable to produce bills for table wine and newspapers before 9pm on the last evening of our stay, not at all helpful when forty or more people had to pay their bills and we had an early departure the next morning. The one saving grace was the quality of the food and the dinning room waiting staff, these were both good.
Perhaps this hotel would be suitable if you were visiting as an independent traveller but not if you are a member of a coach party. So different from experiences of other hotels frequented by the same coach company.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, be aware that some rooms are situated over the kitchens and over look the delive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
301 helpful votes 301 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had a two-night half board break at the Royal York and Faulkner earlier this week and it was a really good experience. On arrival we were offered assistance with our cases and directed to our room, which was on the top floor with the full sea view we had requested. The en-suite room was very clean and well furnished.

The food started with an included afternoon tea in one of the lounges and continued with an excellent 4 course dinner with varied items to select from plus vegetarian choices followed by coffee in any one of the several lounges.
Breakfast was as good as you will get anywhere and sufficient to make us not need to have lunch.

The (mainly young) staff were attentive, polite and helpful to their (mainly older) guests.
Wi-fi is free and there is a free access PC in a lounge.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobermory, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Had the most wonderful 3 days staying here with friends and my dog. My room had a marvellous balcony and view of the sea which was just across the road. Staff were fantastic and the meals were very good with lots of choice. Can't wait to return

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal York & Faulkner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal York & Faulkner Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal York & Faulkner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Regency hotel enjoys an unrivaled position at the centre of Sidmouth’s elegant Esplanade, overlooking the sea and adjacent to the picturesque town centre. Owned and personally run by the Hook family, resident proprietors for three generations, the hotel has a long standing reputation for hospitality and service. The property, having undergone expensive though careful refurbishment, is beautifully appointed with all amenities, excellent facilities and a stunning new spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Royal York & Faulkner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal York And Faulkner Hotel
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.