We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brend Hotels does it again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Belmont Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Belmont Hotel to your Saves list
The Belmont Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Late Availability
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Sidmouth
Hampshire, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Brend Hotels does it again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We managed to get a four night break at the Belmont following the cancellation of our cruise on the Danube following the bad floods. We have previously stayed at The Imperial in Barnstaple (twice) and did wonder whether or not we would have the same great experience at The Belmont. We need not have been cocnerned, it was wonderful. The food is wonderful, beautifully presented and cooked. The staff are unobtrusive yet very friendly and helpful. If you want the "Hello my name is Tracey and I am your server tonight" You will not get that at the Belmont. You will get quality service with a warm and welcoming atmosphere. We were always greeted with a smile byall staff and when we had a probelm with the key card for our room not working, everyone worked fast to solve the problem, the Area Manager even came down to offer his assistance and in the end everything was sorted out. I cannot think of many hotels where you would receive that level of service at 6.00 on a Saturday night. I could go on praising this hotel but that is pointless as so many other reviewers have echoed my thouhts. We will certianly return to the Belmont and all I can say is .... Brend Hotels you have got everything right, you do what you do very well indeed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    40
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
117
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We didn't stay here, the trip was a special afternoon tea for family and friends.

Overall, a pretty good experience - just a few details that made it less than 5/5. Tea isn't bookable, but we had let the hotel know that party of 5 was arriving about 4 pm. We were seated quickly and orders taken but then had to wait a good 25 minutes before tea arrived. No one offered to bring pots of tea first during the wait (we were all parched). We sat at a group of easy chairs and a sofa with about 4-5 small coffee tables pressed into service as a tea table. But the big starched linen covers obscured the edges of the tables and the gaps, so 2 people dropped crockery on the floor. One of the waiting staff chatted to the adjacent group for a good 15 minutes, and later as it the room grew quieter 3 or 4 staff loudly discussed buying out of date supermarket meat and whether to 'wash the slime off' before eating. Eeurgh!

However, the food was excellent - a Belmont tea consisting of a round of sandwiches, a large slice of coffee cake, two enormous scones jam and cream, and two 'pastries' which proved only slightly smaller than the sliced cake. My only criticism is the wastefulness of offering three huge bowls of clotted cream with the scones, and that the pastries mostly went back because no one could finish them. Slightly smaller portions would be right, though I seldom complain about too much food! But overall it was still a lovely tea in a great setting with old fashioned service and courtesy, and excellent value at £13.50 each.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

For the price we paid, we thought the food only average - not exciting.

One of our party paid over £300 per night (a double room with sea view for single occupancy) and we felt he had paid over the odds for the holiday.

The staff were very attentive and did a good job, but the majority looked quite dour.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Area Director at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. At the Belmont Hotel we endeavour to ensure that all our guests have an enjoyable stay.

We are sorry you feel that we failed to come up to your expectations on your visit as we pride ourselves on giving our guests the best possible service.

We experience a high level of customer satisfaction and feel that this is shown by a large number of repeat guests.

We thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

A three day break to meet up with our son from Jersey,a return to the Belmont ticked all the boxes! Standard rooms were booked & were well appointed,clean & comfortable.Breakfast,dinner & light lunch offered good choice & quality,good to see local fresh produce included.Good staff levels provided excellent attentive service in all areas,great to see these days.A very enjoyable 3 day break & we will definately be back again.

Room Tip: Car parking can be difficult lunch times & needs to be planned rather than assumed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

A return visit to the Belmont. Most visitors we met appeared to have stayed before. Whilst the buildings are old, money seems to be spent keeping them well maintained, in beautifully kept gardens overlooking the sea. Our room was comfortable and over-looked the sea. Just away from the main town centre, it was convenient but not noisy. Very friendly staff were particularly in evidence during meals, which were fresh, tasty and very nicely presented. We will be staying again, although there is no gym and the sports and swimming facilities open to residents in the adjacent hotel are very limited.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Its like stepping back 20-30 years with high standards of rooms, food and service what never deviate.

Away with my son and greeted as usual like a member of 'the family. Shown to a very large room overlooking sea and gardens.

Dinning from drinks and nibbles through to starchy napkins, silver service, 5 courses and real selection of vegetables all brilliant

Decided to try a Bin End Bordeaux ... to die for.

Lovely good night sleep and fab breakfast.

Lots of extra touches from toiletries, umbrellas, baggage boys and any alteration requested is met with a YES.

Thank you

Room Tip: All rooms are sweet and even if not sea facing view of gardens and hills really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Area Director at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Belmont Hotel. As a returning guest, it is always good to see that we are keeping up our high standards in all areas of the hotel.

It was especially pleasing to read that you were very happy with your accommodation and your dining experience, including your wine selection, and were able to enjoy the little touches that the hotel provides for all our guests.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your review and we all look forward to welcoming yourself, together with your son back to The Belmont Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a well established, clean and welcoming hotel with traditional old fashioned standards. A couple of little niggles with our room were attended to with alacrity and rectified. Nothing was too much trouble. Diners are required to "dress" for dinner and it was lovely being waited on in the lounge area whilst we decided on our menu choices. The barman was very interesting to talk to and was a fount of knowledge on wine. Food was first class and the waiting staff excellent. We made full use of the Spa at the sister hotel next door (Victoria) - we preferred the atmosphere of the smaller Belmont. Our fellow guests tended to be even older than us (we are in our sixties). Weather for our trip wasn't great however, this is the sort of hotel you can sit and read a book in!

Room Tip: We paid extra for a sea view - in my opinion there is no point staying in a sea front hotel without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belmont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Sidmouth
The Belmont Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belmont Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.