We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Brender” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Belmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Belmont Hotel to your Saves list
The Belmont Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Late Availability
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
eastbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Repeat Brender”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed in the Imperial in Barnstaple last year and it was our experience there that prompted us to locate another hotel in the Brend group. We enjoyed our stay very much and would highly recommend it for service, décor and food. The dinner and breakfast were excellent and were served by attentive and well trained staff. Following dinner coffee was served in the communal lounge which was very welcoming. Our room was warm and well decorated, with a view of the seafront. Personal touches such as flowers, water and chocolates were very much appreciated and the turn down service was carried out whilst dinner was being served which for us is far preferable to being disturbed. We would definitely stay at a Brend Hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    46
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
37
142
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our recent 5 day break at the Belmont Hotel, Sidmouth was commenced in really cold weather on 11th March 2013. Parking was easy and there were sufficient spaces for all clients. Our baggage was collected from the car and delivered to our room by a very helpful porter. Our room was warm, cosy, quiet and overlooked the garden. Some rooms with sea views are more spacious and my impression is that all rooms are well appointed.
We dressed for dinner in jacket and tie, were welcomed by the staff and shown our table. The five course dinner was sumptuous, well presented by waiters who were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The quality of the food was exceptional and the final course, coffee and chocolate, was taken in the lounge. We wondered if this standard was just for our first night, but our fears were allayed in that the level of service for this hotel was consistent throughout our stay. Breakfast was also waiter served and excellent. The choices were multiple and we personally enjoyed the fresh fruit.
Sidmouth is a quiet seaside town with plenty of small shops to keep the ladies occupied. Near at hand is Exeter with easy access if one uses the Park and Ride. Exmouth and the Jurassic coast are near.
Would we go again – definitely! We like being looked after, pampered and valued. The manager even came and waited on table for a few evening whilst we were there. We can well recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Phone ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were booked into this hotel for four nights - we left after the first night.

I get rather paranoid about what to expect in a room, so phone at least once following booking to clarify the size and type of room. I was assured that this was one 'of their best' rooms.

The hotel looks good and public areas and restaurant are lovely. But when we opened the door to our sea view deluxe room - well, what a let down. No way was it superior or deluxe. And we were paying enhanced rates for it. It was so small, and the fixtures and fittings were just not acceptable. It was just shabby! We discussed the matter with a manager and he admitted we had a legitimate complaint and recommended alternative rooms for a future stay.

This stay was all the more disappointing as we had just had four lovely nights in a Brend hotel in Barnstaple.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Area Director at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We always endeavour to ensure that all of our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay at the Belmont Hotel.

As discussed with you during your stay last year, the bedroom you were allocated was scheduled to be completely refurbished as part of our ongoing programme in the New Year.

The refurbishment of the room in question is now being completed, as well as many of our other rooms in the hotel and when finished, pictures will be posted online onto the TripAdvisor website.

We thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for the weekend commencing 15th February 2013 after waiting for suitable weather.
When we arrived at the hotel we were shown our room which had just been refurbished. All the fitments were stainless steel with plenty of light in the room. There was even a light over the mirror so my wife could attend to her hair.

The bathroom was also refurbished in white. There was evrything you could need but the only source of heat was a heated towel rail which meant that the bathroom was quite cold.

The restaurant was well run by the Maitre d' and the waiters who served us were most attentive. It was amazing that the dirty plates were cleared promptly after each course. Dinner consisted of a six course menu. The food was of a very high standard and on our second night we could not manage the cheese course.

On the Saturday evening a band performed in the lounge for some dancing. With two couples on the dance floor it was full. The band veered towards Country and Western music which to our modern sequence dancing was not ideal. However they were a very good band and we enjoyed their music.

On the morning of our departure the Manager asked to see us to give our opinion of the refurbished room. We could not praise the hotel highly enough.

Sidmouth town centre is a short walk from the hotel along a level promenade.

I can only praise the hotel for the food , accommodation and the geral ambiance generated by the Managers and staff.

We shall return again and again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Another 6 day visit to this hotel by the sea. Our favourite waitress Errrrrrrrrrrrma has got the coveted black jacket and has been promoted to head waitress to assist Angie the manageress, who again is another asset to the hotel. It is also a joy to visit this hotel when Ronnie is on duty, he has a wicked sense of humour on the quiet, but very professional when carrying out his duties as head waiter. After dinner when retiring to the lounge for tea or coffee you are met by Xsavia and Larry (Hope the spelling is right) and Xsavia knows what you want straight away after you have been there one night, whether it is tea or coffee.
This is our 5th visit to this hotel over the years and from the moment you enter the reception to the time you leave it is so relaxing and friendly especially Tim the Gen Manager who at busy times even helps out waiting on tables and coming around to speak to all the guests.
You begin to feel that the staff have become your friends but still there is that proffesionalism all the time when you meet and greet them.
A big thankyou again to all the staff upstairs and downstairs for making our holiday so relaxing and to say that my wife and I will see you again in November.

Room Tip: We have had 4 different rooms over the years and thay have all been excellent. Tim has showed me the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

What are you looking for in a Hotel. Is it a bland chrome and faux leather place, with staff that do not really want to be there, with bedrooms the size of a cupboard, coldish food left on a buffet, no parking or even having to pay to park, and charges for anything they can thisnk of. Then sorry the Belmont is not for you.

The moment you arrive and park your car in the large car pasrk - you are greeted by a friendly door-man and reception staff. Your room will be welcoming and beautifully decorated with comfy beds. All meals are served "silver service" style - even breakfast by staff who are friendly and happy to be looking after you. What more can you ask for - old fashioned service and courtesy as it used to be and is now very difficukt to find. Somewhere where you custom is valued - you are treated as a person and not just another number.

We like the Belmont - I am sure you will as well. Well done Tim (GM) and all the Staff at the Belmont for making our stay something special

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are great - soem of the side sea view rooms have recently been refurbished and ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Having stayed at nearly all of the hotels in this chain, our recent return here provided a most welcome winter break, and whilst all maintain a high standard of service, comfort and cuisine, the Belmont must be considered a favourite. Staff helpful on arrival and courteous and friendly throughout our stay. The room was comfortabe, warm and well equipped; the menu was both extensive and varied; the food was well presented and excellently served.
Apart from a slight error in dining table seating we could find no fault in the service and do not hesitate to recommend a stay here whilst we look forward to a return visit.
Sidmouth and surroundings have plenty to offer the visitor in all forms of activit,y whether leisure, entertainment or shopping.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea views available if required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#4 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belmont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Sidmouth
The Belmont Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belmont Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.