We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a found” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Belmont Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Belmont Hotel to your Saves list
The Belmont Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Late Availability
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gem of a found”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed at the Belmont Hotel for our recent family holiday, and it did not fail to please.
Ideally located close to the beach and other amentites of Sidmouth.
We where shown to our rooms by very courteous Porter. We found the rooms very comfy and must stay that housekeeping kept immaculate standards.
There was a very nice bar/lounge area if you did not want to go out of an evening serviced by polite bar staff.
The dining experence all so meet expectations with the full silver service waitering. The food was of high standards and the restuarant staff could not do enough to please you.
I would receommend this hotel to anyone who wants a warm and friendly experience in comfortable surroundings

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    46
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
37
141
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Had a family break over three days.
Staff un-attentive, surly and un-responsive, some plainly have no interest in their jobs or care one fig for their clients. Require training &/or replacing
Food on conveyor belt. Plates hotter than the food.
Still waiting for a drink.
Bathroom like a sauna- basin chipped & cracked -
still awaiting plumber to fix cold tap on bath
Staff don't take any notice of 'Do not disturb' signs.
EXPENSIVE EXPERIENCE

Room Tip: Sea views first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBeauchamp, Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Dear Reviewer

I was sorry to read your comments about the problems that you encountered during your recent stay with us at the Hotel.

May I firstly say that all of the points that you have raised will be fully looked into.

The Belmont Hotel is fully committed to providing the highest standard of staff training and service, therefore let me assure you that your comments have been noted and taken very seriously.

As soon as I have been able to look into all the matters you have raised, I will contact you personally.

May I once again thank you for taking the time to make me aware of your recent experience. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Belmont Hotel in the near future when we can restore your faith in our hotel.


Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

If you like good standards & excellent service then this could be the place for you. We had five very enjoyable nights at the Belmont helped by some unseasonal sunny & warm weather. The staff are all nicely dressed so instantly recognisable, very friendly & helpful. There is a dress code in the dining room so no knees-out jeans & 'T' shirts which was rather nice.

The food is excellent, helped by a nice reasonably priced wine list. The service in the dining room was especially good.

The public lounges are comfortably fitted out & look out towards the sea. The dining room is elegant but doesn't have a sea view. Only a few yards from the seas & a short walk from the town centre the Belmont is very well situated.

The only downside was our bedroom which for a 4 star hotel was rather small; we've had better rooms in 2 star hotels. Despite this, overall we had a most enjoyable stay.

Derek & Sylvia Stephenson

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

I live only around half an hour from Sidmouth but we decided to take a spontaneous overnight stay. We just turned up in reception and asked if anything was available. They gave me (without my asking) a discounted late availability rate which, while still relatively expensive, was fair for a hotel of its size and standard.

The hotel decor is a bit dated in places, but that is actually a positive thing. It adds to its charm. Service was superb from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. We didn't take dinner in the evening, as the hotel, somewhat quaintly, have a jacket and tie dress code for evening meals. As this was a spontaneous trip, we didn't have those with us. We ate out a pub in town, of which there are many good ones in Sidmouth.

We didn't specify a sea facing room (which would have been presumably more expensive) and were allocated a small, but pleasant room. A bath was a nice surprise, as most hotels provide only showers. The porter who showed us to our room even amusingly asked us if we were OK wtih one flight of stairs - clearly used to an older clientele! There is a lift for those for whom that would be a challenge.

Being an old building, the floors are a little creaky, which is to be expected, but was somewhat irritating when the person in the room above us decided to get up at 6am the next morning. Who gets up at 6am in a seaside hotel? Not me.

Breakfast was truly excellent, both in terms of quality and quantity, and service could not have been better. The waiting staff appeared to be exceptionally polite and helpful without being instrusive, a very welcome change from indifferent staff in other hotels I have visited who offer no help other than to point you to the self service area. I could not praise the Belmont staff any higher - from reception to bar staff to management to waiting staff (with some performing more than one of these roles) they were all beyond criticism.

Perhaps one day, before my time, all hotels were like this. I wish they were now. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn, Bucks, UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

If you want a comfortable stay in a traditional hotel with very high standards, this is your hotel. The location couldn't be better, overlooking the sea with great views across the cricket ground and town. This hotel really stands out for the exceptional service provided by all the staff who are polite, helpful and very friendly. The hotel is spotless with a very comfortable lounge and bar overloooking the sea. The rooms are spacious, well furnished, spotlessly clean with modern bathrooms. The food in the very pleasant restaurant is excellent and cannot be faulted. Staff in the restuarant are exceptional and manage to have adopted the correct balance of efficiency with friendliness and thanks especially to Steve who was simply excellent. The warmth of this hotel will certainly make us return in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Our stay didn't get off to a great start. We were booked to stay at the neighbouring Victoria Hotel, under the same ownership, but the booked "sea facing" room turned out to mainly have a view over the car park, was tiny, and we could hear every word in the neighbouring room. After a bit of a discussion with hotel management, we were moved to the Belmont next door, and thereafter had a great stay.
The Belmont is a proper, traditional but luxurious seaside hotel. The public areas are beautifully appointed. Bedroom, although land-facing, was large, nicely decorated and well equipped.
Nice traditional touches included a turn-down service, and proper silver-service dining.
Excellent dinner, accompanied by pianist. Attentive service from friendly and professional staff.
Breakfast was also a treat. No buffet service - everything served fresh to order from the menu, so very enjoyable and relaxing.
Guests at the Belmont can use the leisure facilities at the Victoria next door - but to be honest their "New Spa" is a bit lacking - tiny pool, jacuzzi only big enough for two, and really, really tiny changing rooms.
Sidmouth is a delightful seaside down - unspoiled by modern development - very attractive, gentile and with wonderful walks along the coast path.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

we were met by slightly surly and unsmiling reception staff
I had sent an email prior to arrival which remained unanswered and wasn't mentioned on arrival.
the bedrooms - stiflingly hot - but radiators turned off and windows open made it more bearable . A terrible waste of resources to have the rooms so hot on arrival.
The rooms we had booked were not allocated together which seemed odd in so quiet a hotel - this was improved upon when we asked.

The rooms and especially the bathrooms were dated but clean and well eqipped - the towels needed replacing.
The restaurant staff were young, multi national , charming and polite. The food was good in an old fashioned way and plenty of choice. Pianist one night and live band/dancing the other - not for everyone
leisure facilities at the adjacent hotel - this was the only area that should have been well heated and wasn't - and the sauna didn't seem to work - the jacuzzi was tiny and there weren't enough robes in this unattended area. what a shame.

Situation is lovely and Sidmouth a gem. I would visit again but don't think it meets 4* standards of reception staff service, decor etc these days. However, winter break rates and good food make it a bargain for a January visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#4 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belmont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Sidmouth
The Belmont Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belmont Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.