We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another relaxing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff to your Saves list
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manor Road, Sidmouth EX10 8RU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Sidmouth
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another relaxing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel and, again, we thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were all exceptionally friendly and helpful, the food was delicious and our room was comfortable with outstanding sea views. We look forward to returning there soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    102
    35
    16
    4
See reviews for
27
158
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I've stayed here twice - the first time (in Dec 2011) I was very disappointed with the room as it was very (very) tired. However, while I was there I noticed that they were in the process of redoing some of the rooms. Upon booking in December 2012, I specifically asked for one of the newly redecorated rooms (Feature Doubles) and that made all the difference. Done to a high standard, the room was everything we needed to come "home to" after a relaxing day of pre-Christmas shopping in Sidmouth. The lounge and downstairs areas are comfy if a bit old-worldly. Attentive staff and great views all around and the perfect position from which to explore Sidmouth and surroundings.

Room Tip: Room 6 has the best (double aspect) views of the Sidmouth seafront. Nothing short of perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night on the 10th feb as I had business in the area.booked a sea view room which was clean but shabby and no bath.reception staff were helpful and polite and so were the waiting staff at dinner.breakfast was different I sat down,eventually a waitress decided to come over and barked "what room number" she then walked over to her colleague and decided to have a chat,RUDE.she didn't return.After 10 min I helped myself to fruit and took it to my room.wouldn't return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have just returned from our second visit to The Westcliff and we have again had a very comfortable relaxing weekend. A beautiful hotel - fantastic views - great walks - excellent food...what else can one ask for. Well done you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is our second visit to The Westcliff and we were not dissappointed. All the staff were extremely attentive and courteous without exception. The room had been recently refurbished, it was well appointed and very comfortable. We will certainly be visiting again in the near future!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a largish hotel overlooking the sea about 500 metres along from the main promenade at Sidmouth. Our room is a standard sea view room and is large ,airy and comfortable.The restaurant food is plentiful and well presented and the public rooms spacious and well kept. No indoor pool, no fitness room and no evening entertainment, so well suited to us oldies. There is a TV room and an outside pool in the summer months.Just the place for a restful break.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

myself and 5 friends visited the hotel for a cream tea, baring in mind we are locals. Fifteen minutes after seating ourselves we were acknowledged and placed an order for 5 cream teas. We received a 1 pot of tea, two tea bags, and a small pot of hot water. The waitress seemed astounded that we would ask for more, The scones were no better that Tesco value, the jam was one solidified mass, you could cut with a knife and not a strawberry insight. Lidl Jam is much better quality. Thank goodness we were there as a group and enjoyed each others company or it would of been a complete disaster. If it wasn't that we had vouchers we would have refused to pay. Our one regret is not complaining whilst we were there and we are at fault there.
Best cream tea in this area is Southern Cross at Newton Popplefford, no comparrison with this one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback with regards to your afternoon tea here at the Westcliff Hotel . We really do appreciate all feedback good or bad as it is only through this feedback that we can hope to improve the level of service that we provide. I am so sorry that your experience was not an enjoyable one for you and your friends and would like to reassure you that all the points raised have been addressed as a matter of urgency and if you would like to discuss the matter further then please do contact me directly on ken.cumming@harbourhotels.co.uk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff

Address: Manor Road, Sidmouth EX10 8RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New for 2012, seven stunning newly refurbished sea view bedrooms (Superior Bedrooms)! In a breath-taking location on the south Devon coast, the 40 bedroom Sidmouth Harbour Hotel formerly The Westcliff, enjoys stunning views over Lyme Bay. Some rooms have balconies – a perfect place to relax over a morning coffee with the papers or afternoon tea. A magnificent setting on the Jurassic Coast and with exceptional service, exquisite food and total relaxation – the essential ingredients for a perfect stay.This charming Victorian hotel enjoys breath-taking panoramic views that take in the majestic red cliffs of Sidmouth, sparkling Lyme Bay and rolling green hills of the glorious Sid Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westcliff Hotel Sidmouth
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.