We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Guest House” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southcombe Guest House

Southcombe Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Southcombe Guest House
Save
You added Southcombe Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   St Elmo, Vicarage Road, Sidmouth EX108UQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 34 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Guest House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We choose Southcombe Guest House by chance for a November break.
Jackie & Graham made our stay very enjoyable and made us feel very welcome, The breakfasts were very filling and sustained us until time for tea. the room was very clean and comfortable. It was located within easy walking distance of Sidmouth
We would certainly return again and would recommend to out friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Had an excellent week here, hosts Jackie and Graham are great fun, never a dull moment. The rooms are modern and clean, breakfast was well cooked and even though the place was full Jackie served you very quickly and efficiently. The garden is outstanding with a beautiful decked area for guests to sit and relax. All in all a perfect place.

Room Tip: . If you are a light sleeper you are better at the back of property as road can be a bit busy first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stay here every year during Folk Week and have never been disappointed, despite every room being full the Service and Standard is never less than excellent. Jackie and Graham are friendly and very helpful if you need anything special. The Location is just a 1 minute walk to the town center and only 2 or 3 more to the sea front the B&B Garden is open to residents and is very well kept it provides a very relaxing area next to the River.
It is a B&B but of its type it is one of the very best we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at Southcombe Guest House on a four night special in March 2013.

The weather was very cold! But our room was warm, pleasant and very clean.

Breakfast and evening meals were well cooked and served promptly. The portions were generous.

Very close to the Exeter bus route and about seven minutes to the sea front.

Graham and Jackie were very helpful and their rear garden, down to the river, was particularly attractive

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

we have been visiting Sidmouth for many years and stayed at various guest houses and can honestly say this was the best and would return without a doubt , The owners ,Jackie and Graham are friendly ,cheerful and were very helpful to our needs.
The Guest house is very clean , the beds are comfortable and dressed with crisp white linen.Our ensuite was modern and the shower was lovely and hot .The breakfast was very tasty too.
Even in the middle of winter the gardens looked beautiful and would love to return in the summer to see it at its best.
The situation of the guest house is very close to Sidmouth town and could be easily walked .
We would recommend this guest house to all our friends .
I

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at southcombe on a four day special offer.the rooms although small were very comfortable.Jackies meals were excellent and Grahams hospitality was second to none.a most enjoyable stay,would highly recommend this hotel.
Jan,Brian.glen and Chris

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We only stayed here for 1 night, but hearing what was being offered for evening meal the next day we wished we were staying longer. This guest house is only a short walk from the town along the footpath, but Graham suggested we turned right out of the house and within minutes we were walking through the park, alongside the River Sid down to the sea front. Our bedroom was a good size, with a window overlooking the large garden, and a new ensuite. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was good. The garden is large, with a decked area overlooking the garden, the garden path leads down to the River Sid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southcombe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southcombe Guest House

Address: St Elmo, Vicarage Road, Sidmouth EX108UQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Southcombe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Southcombe Guest House Sidmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southcombe Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.