We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No worries!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Woodlands Hotel to your Saves list
Woodlands Hotel
Station Road, Sidmouth EX10 8HG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“No worries!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for a couple of nights. The owners have taken great care withe renovation of the hotel. It was clean and well decorated. Our room was spacious with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice.We would certainly stay there again.
If we had to be picky we would say that a grab handle by the bath would be useful and, although we applaud the fact that dogs are accepted, allowing them to be exercised off the lead on the lawn may not be a good idea!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    65
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
55
102
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wantage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really friendly welcome by the owner and although we were going to be late arriving he checked that we could get food at a local pub. He even ensured that we had breakfast very early the following morning. Room was very clean and well presented. Would have loved to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Short stay, could not fault the place in any way, friendly, nothing was any trouble, for the owners or there staff. beautifully refurbished, the hole place has a happy atmosphere.
To get any were is so easy. highly recommended, we will return. Fab breakfast.
All the best for the future. Peter & Mary. sussex.

Room Tip: Excellent rooms bar restaurant,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have just had a lovely experience at this family run small hotel, recently refurbished by relatively new owners you will be pleasantly surprised by the tastefully decorated rooms, mixture of old with a clever modern twist. Very friendly & bonus of a fantastic breakfast. Great communal rooms & pretty garden. Close enough for a quick walk to seafront with good choice of restaurants although hotel also offer evening meals if you pre-book. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Staughton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice hotel not too far from all the facilities of Sidmouth, Would like to have given 3.5 but the site does not allow that!

Anyone staying here will likely have a nice break. My score reflects my opinion of the hotel in comparison to similar priced stays in similar hotels. I cant quite understand all the 5* scores - i thought this site was supposed to score the hotel and facilities - not the Location and the hosts!
My only wishes to the owner would be nice new pillows please, but well done to the hotel owners wish you continued success

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at this hotel before as a base for visiting Sidmouth and taking in the sea air, and since we last visited it has been beautifully tweaked.

The welcome is warm, the rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable, breakfast is varied and delicious, the gardens are lovely and the location perfect.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinver, South Staffs.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just spent three nights at The Woodlands and couldn't fault it. Friendly welcome for us and our dog, great room (No. 1) good size with direct accesss to the garden, beautifully decorated.
The hotel is an easy walk to the seafront, pubs, restaurants etc.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, some rooms have direct accesss to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel

Address: Station Road, Sidmouth EX10 8HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sidmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodlands Hotel is an eighteen bedroom hotel steeped in history, set in a peaceful, private garden in the seaside town of Sidmouth. The hotel is just a few minutes easy walk from both the town centre, with its traditional shops, and the seafront; yet enjoys a tranquil garden with a stream running through.The hotel has free wifi, new flat screen TV's and has been recently renovated with new carpets and beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.