We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating out” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel Restaurant

The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel Restaurant
The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AX, England
01395 513151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 69 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Eating out”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I’m sorry I have never put a negative review yet but feel I have to say something about the meal we had in this hotel. The first indication we had that all was not going to be what we expected when we entered the restaurant and could smell stewed cabbage. I deliberately avoided the roast dinner as I suspected that was the culprit of the cabbage smell. Three of us had the pheasant which was so tough we had to send it back. The staff seemed to be clueless one trying to serve dessert to two of us while three of us still had not had a main course.

Generally it was a unpleasant evening and a expensive one to boot, the restaurant charged us for the replacement meals!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dukessidmouth, General Manager at The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We were very disappointed to read your review, we are sorry the pheasant was tough, we have had a problem with the quality of the meat from our supplier and we have since removed it from our menu. We hope you enjoyed your replacement meal. We are a family run hotel and are very passionate about the quality of food and service we offer, we have many happy guests who stay and eat with us and are sorry on this occasion we didn't meet our own high standards. If you would like to contact us directly we would be happy to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first

Travelers who viewed The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Sidmouth, Devon
 

Been to The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.