We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try to dine in” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jadewok Chinese Restaurant

Jadewok Chinese Restaurant
30 High Street, Sidmouth ex10 8ej, England
+(44)01395514720
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 70 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Cuisines: Imperial Chinese, Minority Chinese
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Try to dine in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

There were more people waiting for takeaways than dining but I am pleased we did. Then we could enjoy the delicious food properly - very generous size meals. Don't over order! Service a bit lax initially. They need to get you a drink straight away so then it's no big deal waiting to give your order for food

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Another deliciously fresh takeaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Since Jadewok opened we have eaten in but often prefer a takeaway as we live locally. Ordered last Sunday evening as a treat since we were on leave and promptly paid over the phone and had it delivered within 15 minutes.

Fab service (only £1.50 delivery charge) meaning we could stay in our p-j's and the food was cooked fresh - its always noticable and much improved on the old "Yummy Express".

Other good points is that they have now combined the two old menu's into one making it lots simpler to order and have even reduced their prices - even more reason to "treat ourselves" more often.

Will be ordering again no doubt!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very tasty takeaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is our second takeaway from Jake Wok recently and on both occasions have found the food to be of great taste and to a great standard. The coconut rice is superb, the crispy seaweed is a must to accompany a meal also. Excellent sweet n sour sauce. We look forward to the next takeaway very soon

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“takeaway delight!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

me and my wife always have our takeaway from the jadewok, they have a great menu and will always cater for the more delicate of palates as my wif cant take the heat like me!! we will try the restaurant one night when we can get a babt sitter!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Maybe we have just been very unlucky with this place, and although we have visited it twice we haven't actually eaten a single thing here. The fist time the kitchen suddenly shut down due to an electrical fault and the second time we waited thirty minutes to get served and eventually gave up. We did try two glasses of wine ...... which were both awful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jadewok Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jadewok Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jadewok Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.