We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great return visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rising Sun

The Rising Sun
School Street | Sidford, Sidmouth EX10 9PF, England
01395 513722
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 69 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Seaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great return visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

we visited again on sat 29th only to find we did not have a table reserved as I had left a message on their answer machine the night before to make a reservation but to be fair the landlady is ill at the moment ( speedy recovery we hope ) but AMY quickly found us a table where we enjoyed yet another lovely meal each. we cant speak highly enough about the meals and staff at the rising sun.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Friendly Public House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

A very good weclome by the staff, good choice of wines and meals, cosy comfy dog friendly public house with open fires, you know you are in a good place when there are locals eating and drinking, we had 2 meals here both good and well presented, nice out door seating.The meals did take a little while to come out but was well worth the wait.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“excellent meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

this is our second visit here the first about 2 weeks ago just for a drink , we studied the menu and decided to visit again tonight and we were not disappointed , what a wonderful meal we had. we were served by ceri who was very attentive and helpful. my partner had the chicken and leak pie which she said was great, I had the beef and merlot pie which was out of this world. looking around the dining room we could see that all the meals coming out looked great and the diners looked very happy. we will be going back again and we urge anyone else to try this venue its wonderful.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellford, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“One silly act short of Excellent”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

My partner and I had a delightful time here one afternoon in September. We enjoyed the ambiance, the service, the beer, wine and food (particularly the fish and chips).
We would have come away from here ready to write a strong recommendation, but our perception was spoiled by one silly little act by the owner.
You have to pay cash here for purchases below (I think) £10. This is reasonable, given the processing fees charged to merchants by credit card companies. However, when we went to the bar for another glass of wine, only to discover we didn't have enough cash, we'd already spent almost three times this amount. The owner's refusal to sell us this last glass of wine on our credit card changed our whole perception of what had been to that point a very nice experience.
We ate at many more pubs on this trip, but we never returned to the Rising Sun. At the end of the day, the owner lost far more revenue from us than the credit card costs she saved on that one glass of wine.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Dog Friendly Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Had good reviews so gave it a try. Its is dog friendly which is a plus. There is no car park so need to park in council car park behind Spar, but it it is a two minute walk from there. Menu was varied and drinks were reasonable in price. The food was a long time coming but was worth it when it arrived. All in all a good pub with good food.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rising Sun also viewed

 

Been to The Rising Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rising Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.