We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book in advance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Neil's Restaurant

Neil's Restaurant
Radway Place, Vicarage Road | Sidmouth, Sidmouth EX10 8TL, England
+44 1395 519494
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 69 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Price range: $23 - $55
Cuisines: European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Neil's is a great place to eat in Sidmouth and is just a short walk from the Beach and within easy reach of Beer, Lyme Regis and Exeter. Neil's focuses on bringing the freshest Devon food, cooked in sympathetic and delicious ways to the table. Neil's Restaurant Sidmouth has an informal and contemporary design and allows you to actually see Neil at work.
sussex
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Book in advance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked 3 months in advance following rave reviews on trip advisor and were not disappointed. Not a table spare in the restaurant and they were turning people away, so definitely book in advance.
The only disappointment was the choice of food available due apparently to the availability of fresh fish that week and that there had been a regatta at Brixham causing the traulers to all come in together and all leave together!!???
However the food ordered was fantastic, my wife's calamari was the best she had eaten anywhere in the world, and everyone was raving about the fabulous taste of all of the dishes.
We will definitely be back when we are next in the area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    43
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Faultless!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Absolutely brilliant! First impressions: spotlessly clean, warm welcome. The service was quick by attentive staff. The fish was beautifully cooked, and despite what some reviewers have said, there were plenty of carbs in the form of the most delicious home-baked walnut and raisin bread (warm), roasted wedge potatoes as well as new potatoes. Other nicely cooked vegetables too, including fresh asparagus tips. I had the papillote of plaice and smoked salmon with a lemon butter sauce, which was delicious. Maybe a little garnish of herbs, or black pepper might have improved presentation, but this is my only criticism. The starters (cuttlefish with chilli dip) and puddings (home made sorbet) were also lovely. I went with three members of my family and we all ordered different things but were all truly delighted. Well done chef & staff! We got there at 6.30 so benefited from the 20% discount, otherwise would have been dear.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband had the lobster, I had Sea Bass, both were very good, the potato wedges were to die for, I could not stop eating them! Very good service and to top it all a special offer was on at the time of 20% if your order was in the kitchen before 7pm.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best summer pudding in Sidmouth - and the fish ain't bad either!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Well appointed restaurant with attentive, but not pushy staff. Olives to start were tasty and the cod casserole excellent, but it was the summer pudding with clotted cream that rounded it to perfection! House Merlot a good choice too. All in all a fab dining experience and thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely lobster but Stunning Soup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic meal here this evening. Great food, beautifully cooked and served with a smile by people who really hoped you would enjoy it.
Very well priced and good value.
Pay them a visit but please leave a table spare for me.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neil's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Neil's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neil's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.