We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchor Inn

The Anchor Inn
Old Fore Street, Sidmouth, England
01395 514129 ‎
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 69 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

It was quiet, but that was probably the time of yearand we ate fairly early. The bar staff were friendly and welcoming. The meal was very tasty

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    134
    22
    12
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“WHAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

What a great place this is exquisite food with goo cask ales I am surprised that no one from up north has found & wrote about the Anchor as it is a very friendly place that could not apologise enough for one of my favourate beers (Deuchars).Abig selecyion of food all reasonably priced.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Child Friendly, staff welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Always pop in the Anchor Inn for a beer and food when I pop back to Sidmouth. Staff are friendly and my Daughter loves the fish.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I thoroughly enjoy my (far too) infrequent visits to this lovely pub. It has a great menu selection, great drink, and a truly lovely friendly atmosphere. I think it is probably the pub with the best food in Sidmouth, and there is quite a lot of competition. The prices are competitive, and the service is a nice pace, not too hurried, but you aren't kept waiting for ages. Strongly recommended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great spot, great traditional pub lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very surprised by the food this time we visited. Menu doesn't fluff anything up but it's delicious. Best garlic bread we'd ever had...sounds a bit dramatic but it was...

Good "proper" calamari, good langoustine scampi,

Ok fish cake - normal prob - too much potato not enough fish.

Lovely fresh sardines.

Terrible chips, a staple of a good english pub. Server apologised a lot and offered to get some more, so will put it down to a bad batch!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anchor Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.