We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step Back In Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Riviera to your Saves list
Hotel Riviera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Esplanade | Devon, Sidmouth EX10 8AY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Step Back In Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Just returned from a three night stay celebrating a family birthday at the Riviera in Sidmouth. A very traditional hotel catering for middle aged to elderly guests. Comfort and service excellent nothing is too much trouble. Service in the restaurant is top notch as is the food which is not cheap but you certainly receive value for money. A very enjoyable short break which we all enjoyed and wished we had booked to stay for longer. All of the staff are very friendly some are real characters who could have been penned by Agatha Christie.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    17
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
17
75
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We didn't stay at the Hotel Riviera, but stopped by for lunch. It was a lovely experience. The waiters were attentive but not overbearing, the food was delicious (all freshly prepared with high quality ingredients) and the wine was superb. I had Sunday lunch here a few years ago, and that was an equally wonderful experience. It is great to see that not much has changed. I look forward to going back and hopefully staying in Sidmouth next time.

It is a pity Trip Advisor doesn't have a restaurant listing for this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We had a deluxe sea view room. We felt cared for, spoiled even and the room had a homely ambience with wonderful beds. Time seemed to stop.
Very friendly staff, always ensuring that our needs were met.
Not a cheap stay, the food was very good with only the one item being sent back because we felt that it was too bland for what we were paying for.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Afternoon tea £15.75 selection of sandwiches, teas, scones with cream and cakes. Great location, lovely day and the presentation on a tiered rack was fab so it should have been yum yum but sorry Riviera staff ,who were attentive and polite, your scones are hard, the bread in the finger sandwiches was tired and wasn't fresh, so it was ho hum. I imagined the plates were on a counter somewhere waiting for a busy person to unwrap the cling film and serve.

It doesn't take alot of time to slice fresh cucumber for a garnish or to dress things up a bit but ours were curling slightly on the plate and old. My partner bounced her hard scone about the plate and the cakes were a bit unimaginative and sliced meanly.

This wasn't stuff to write home about in the Afternoon Tea department and freshly preparedness should be the bi word on the terraces this summer.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We dined at the hotel yesterday evening to celebrate my dad's 80th birthday. From the moment that we stepped out of the taxi we were greeted by name, shown to our reserved area of the bar, and treated so well.
This hotel demonstrates high quality service, style and cuisine - a rare quality these days.
Many, many thanks.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

This is the third time we have dined at the Hotel Riviera and the experience on each occasion has been excellent. The very fine food from an accomplished kitchen, was matched by excellent and friendly service. The best value for money is the set menu, which consists of four courses plus coffee for around £28. My meal commenced with a ballotine of foie gras, followed by watercress soup and then roasted guinea fowl. The meal concluded with a fabulous egg custard tart with a nutmeg icecream which had a beautiful aromatic flavour. This certainly isn't cheap dining but for food of this quality, it is well worth the investment. We will be returning.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
1 review
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

we went there for my wifes 50th.birthday for 2 nights.A so called luxury suite,thats a joke. with bay windows overlooking the sea.Saturday night all hell breaks loose with the noise next door from 10.30 to 4a.m. I went to see the porter to complain twice.I informed him we would be leaving between 6/7a.m.could I see the manager or owner,as I was not paying for this experience,I spoke to the manager who passed me the phone to talk to the owner.I left without paying.HORRENDOUS OVERPRICED HOTEL

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Address: The Esplanade | Devon, Sidmouth EX10 8AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#8 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riviera, with its echoes of the South of France and prime position on the seafront, is the choice for the discerning in search of relaxation and quieter pleasures. Many bedrooms have been recently refurbished, so, whether you stay on holiday or on business you will be treated to the kind of friendly personal attention that can only be found in a private hotel of this quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Sidmouth
Hotel Riviera Sidmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.