We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dukes

Dukes
The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AR, England
01395 513320
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 70 restaurants in Sidmouth
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Enjoyed a lovely dinner, nice staff, one of the few decent places to eat in Sidmouth and always busy with a nice atmosphere.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    66
    72
    29
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“3 lovely evenings at the Dukes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Friendly and accomadating staff. Couldn't get a table on our first attempt (we hadn't booked) but we booked for the next 3 evenings and had a lovey table looking out to to the sea. Clare & Sam were most helpful and friendly.
The food was locally sourced, really tasty and portion sizes were large.
We really enjoyed the fish - succulent and tasty. The onion rings are massive. We struggled to finish the brownie & ice-cream. They have a good wine list to choose from. The fruit ciders were refreshing, especially the mixed berries.
Restrooms can tell alot about a place - and at the Dukes they were perfectly clean - no complaints.
Would really recommend the Dukes; best to book in advance and ask for a table in the front area (airy and light).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Buzzy but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Nice terrace for open air drinks. Bistro style restaurant but menu is a bit limited. Very busy and they could do with more bar staff. Restaurant was fine for a quick bite.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good sea front pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had several coffees and lunches here. Always the service was smart and the food well presented and tasty. Staff friendly and helpful.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“"Bit of a let down"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We have loved Dukes in the past on our visits to Sidmouth but this time we felt a little let down. We had the two steaks on the Wednesday offer but there was no veggies and it was very basic. The steak was beautiful. We have had this offer before and it was great but this time was just not the same and we felt it was not value for money. The service was not great either, this was not the fault of the staff, they were lovely but rushed off their feet.
The cheese & biscuits were a real treat as was the Eton Mess and we will be back because we love Dukes atmosphere and have had more good meals than bad.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dukessidmouth, General Manager at Dukes, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
We are sorry you felt the let down with our steak night offer.

We have over a long period of time run Steak night on a Wednesday night and it has proven very popular, most Wednesday nights being fully booked with many customer commenting what good value for money it is - £29.95 for two 28 day hung Westcountry prime steaks, chips, mushrooms, tomatoes and a bottle of wine. Side orders of vegetables and salads are available on the menu.

We are pleased you enjoyed the eton mess and cheese and bisuits and hope to see you back at Dukes soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dukes also viewed

 
Sidmouth, Devon
Sidmouth, Devon
 

Been to Dukes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dukes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.