We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed and confused” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Glen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Royal Glen Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Glen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Glen Road, Sidmouth EX10 8RW, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canvey
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A little disappointed and confused”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed in this hotel at the beginning of the week. The reason that we are disappointed and confused is due to the complete contrast between the standard of the room and the standards of the lounges and dining room. The executive room we had was excellent! The room was modern and fairly large with a great bathroom and a lot of thought had gone into the design and comfort of the guest. However, the lounges and dining room have not been updated for numerous years and this is what I find confusing. Yes, it is a grade two listed building and old charm is nice, however, the lounges and dining room remind me of something out of the "50's". Their was no atmosphere and the chairs were so old and lumpy that we did not want to linger in the bar after our meal but went straight back to our lovely room which was a great shame. The restaurant needs some subdued lighting rather than the bright overhead lights, this would create a more intimate dining experience and would make diners wish to linger over their meals. On the whole, for the price we paid, we would not revisit until a revamp of the dining and bar areas were completed to the standard of the room we stayed in.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and upgrade to one of the newly furbished executive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalglen, Owner at Royal Glen Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank You for making a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the contemporary furnishing of your bedroom, and disapointed that the public areas did not reach your expectations. The bar lounge and Drawing room are indeed next in line for decoration and refurbisment, although we will do this within our grade one listing criteria with English Heritage. The dining room had new under floor heating, lighting, chairs and carpet in 2010/11, but as you suggest perhaps use of dimmer switches would provide different types of atmosphere to suit different uses of the restaurant. Our aim is to continue to upkeep the old house for future generations to enjoy, and we thank you again for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    20
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
19
37
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We have stayed at the Royal Glen on 3 or 4 visits over the last 4 years,we have a family room with its own entrance and key,love the olde worlde atmosphere and the warm welcome from the staff as we arrive.The beds are very comfortable,linen immaculate,room supplies generous and lots of hot water.the pool is great ,very warm and the children love it.We have no problems with parking,it is very easy to walk to the sea and into town.We always do band b as the restaurant is a bit formal for young children but there are lots of food alternatives locally.The price of the accomodation is about half what you would pay in any other hotel with a pool,so the choice is yours.It is really nice,friendly and good value,what more can you ask.

Room Tip: I like room near to the pool, great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I so wanted to love this hotel, but as they say, "the devil is in the detail". First things first let's get rid of the "It's a pit " reviews, not true and they don't help anyone. The hotel is a beautiful grade one listed building and I think that is where the problems come, it must be a nightmare doing any work to the place (I have experience on being grade two listed that's bad enough). The hotel is in a quiet location nestled in the saddle of the hill and I guess it get very little sun later in the year hence the damp comments from some visitors. The room (I only stayed in one so unlike some reviewers I can't comment on ones i didn't see) was fine for the price, cheaper than some of the bigger hotels and in line with the more up market B&B's (I saw a number in the 60pppn area) The room wasn't large but for a twin fine. The bathroom was a little shabby, we had some cleaning issues, but this was sorted and left spotless. The decoration was OK, I got the impression that a lot was done in the mid 80's and now looks a bit tired.
The main hotel rooms are the biggest letdown; apart from the drawing room (a real period piece) the bar, TV room and restaurant are clean and tidy, but need bringing up to date.

The food was generally good, but it all felt so rushed we had an evening meal. We sat down at 7.30 we where looking at our TV before 8.30. Of course this might be exactly what most people want, but for us it was too hurried. The food was well cooked and served and for the price good value. We weren't offered coffee even though it was included, the staff were more keen to relay for breakfast.

The Pool is a pleasant surprise, but the changing area and toilets are not.

Right I better stop before I paint the wrong picture. It's a pleasant small scale hotel of the type we used to do so well in England, I guess it's just got left behind by the bigger chains of budget brands that can do IKEA boutique so well.

Would we stay again probably not, but only because we probably wouldn't stay in Sidmouth.

Room Tip: I think I would rather be in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

My wife and I stayed one Friday night as part of our research in Sidmouth for a suitable hotel for future weekend breaks. We were delighted with the ambiance, accommodation, food and efficient service we received at The Royal Glen. We will return again for a longer period in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Stayed for a weekend break. Hotel is old fashioned - probably more suited to older guests - but was comfortable, restaurant service excellent and food good. I had a room in the older part of the hotel (I was upgraded from a single to a large double!) - furnishings dated but in keeping with the building. It had a large modern bathroom with shower. Some of the rooms have direct access to the gardens and seating areas. There is a small indoor pool (which I had to myself when I used it) and a small gym. My room was on the 2nd floor and up two flights of stairs - the lift only goes to the first floor.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalglen, Owner at Royal Glen Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Thank You for making a review. I would like to mention that the lift goes to 2 floors, accessing 16 rooms as advertised. The remaining bedrooms do have further steps after the lift. We endeavour to be very careful in allocating rooms approriately, however with on line booking this is more difficult to analyse with no specified requirements. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Royal Glen and assure you of every attention and to make sure that you are allocated a room that fits all your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winscombe, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

A walking group of 24 stayed at the Royal Glen Hotel. We all agreed the food was of a high standard and the service was very efficient. The staff were extremely helpful and there was a pleasant atmosphere. The swimming pool was an added bonus.

H.Pearce, Winscombe

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed here with elderly parents with mobility issues who were given a ground floor room with reasonable access. We stored the wheelchair nearby and were able to access ground floor rooms with mother using a walking stick for support. Rooms were clean and comfortable, freshly painted. Food was OK but would have benfitted from better vegetables and less sauce on main courses - some combinations were a little weird! The swimming pool was lovely - warm and welcome for quiet morning and evening swims and there is a gymn alongside. Service in this hotel was good with offers of daily newspapers, portage and a pre-dinner bar most welcome. Definitely somewhere for older people looking for a quiet break by the seaside.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Glen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Glen Hotel

Address: Glen Road, Sidmouth EX10 8RW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Glen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Glen is situated in its own secluded garden, 500 yards from the seafront esplanade. There is parking for 25 cars, a small gym and indoor heated pool. The restaurant serves a 4 course table d'hote menu with choices using Devon produce. The bar offers a comprehensive wine list & the Drawing room opens out on to a sunny veranda. The grade 1 listed building has accommodation in both traditional and contemporary styles. The family run Royal Glen offers personal service in a friendly atmosphere. It is ideally situated for exploring the county and coast from the beautiful resort of Sidmouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Glen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Glen Hotel Sidmouth, Devon
Royal Glen Sidmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Glen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.