We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“14th year and coming again next summer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sidholme Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sidholme Hotel to your Saves list
Sidholme Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Elysian Fields | Vicarage Rd, Sidmouth EX10 8UJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 34 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“14th year and coming again next summer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This summer was mine and my family's 14th year, and already we are booked in for next summer!
The hotel itself is beautiful, I'm amazed they allow us to roam free in such a gorgeous building. The grand staircase is stunning as you walk in, it's quite a small hotel making it lovely and intimate, not too trouble to go anywhere, and you wouldn't find it hard to find a place to settle in the lounge or the television room or the stunningly beautiful listed Music Room. If you don't fancy settling down, you can head on up to the swimming pool, where you get free towels and a lovely 1.4m pool to swim lengths or play games in. There is also a little children's pool beside it. Still not worn out? Have a game of football, volleyball, croquet or similar out in the beautifully kept garden! If you're lucky enough to get a room with a view, the hills look lovely. Sidmouth seems to have its own little microclimate because of the hills/valleys (often making it warmer, though maybe wetter, than surrounding areas).

The hotel is 10 minutes to the front at most (unless you REALLY amble slowly, in which case maybe 15), and you walk through the town centre to get there, which is a lovely little place. Although there are tourist-y shops, they are mainly small gift shops, and the town in general is very unspoilt - no massive chains and horrible restaurants like McDonald's. A walk along the front takes you to the lovely Jacob's Ladder and a cafe at the top (the Clock Tower Cafe), as well as Connaught Gardens.

The hotel organises themed weeks, with guest hosts. For a long time we went to the Family Fun Week, and for the past couple of years we've been to Teen Week (having all grown that much older). There is always a full timetable of activities for all ages; organised trips out (e.g. to Crealy Adventure Park, out mackerel fishing, rock climbing, kayaking on the River Exe, bowling), to local walks and activites on the front (trips to the wonderful ice cream parlour, 'Taste', or for a sand sculpture competition near Jacob's Ladder), to a morning or afternoon of fun in the hotel (usually aimed at children - crafts, games in the garden, etc). The week usually starts with a 'getting to know you' evening, usually in the shape of a quiz, and a film night, etc. Every morning and evening, the hosts run a short session of prayers. So you are NEVER short of anything to do. However, if you're there for a quiet week, if you're not religious, none of these things are compulsory for guests!

Sorry for the long review, but as a family we can't sing the hotel's praises enough! The only bad thing I can say is that the rooms aren't getting any cheaper, so we are fast approaching what will probably be our final year. I'm bringing my kids when I'm older!

I thoroughly recommend staying the whole week if you can. You won't regret it.
xxxxx

Room Tip: I was in a single en-suite, room 9. Perfect little room for me, a closet wardrobe, a spacious shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, General Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, I am delighted you and your family enjoy staying with us.
We are extremely fortunate to be located so close to the town centre of Sidmouth and yet set back far enough to allow yourself to think you are in the peaceful countryside.

It is always so nice to have positive feedback regarding our hotel. We take great pride in what we do and this feedback has been shared with the team. I am also pleased to say that we are holding our prices for next year, so we hope that this helps you for your next stay and don’t forget to sign up to receive our special offers, every little helps! See you soon.
Kind Regards

James Sharp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    36
    23
    6
    9
See reviews for
35
30
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I've been coming to Sidholme for the past 13 years with my family and there's a reason we keep coming back. We love it! Such a lovely place, the pool is fantastic, the building and grounds are beautiful, the staff are perfect, the rooms are kept unbelievably clean. We always have such a good time. Really easy access into town and to the beach. I'd fully recommend this lovely place, stay there and see for yourself!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, General Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, I am delighted you and your family enjoy staying with us for the past 13 years.

It is always so nice to have positive feedback regarding our hotel. We take great pride in what we do and this feedback has been shared with the team. I am also pleased to say that we are holding our prices for next year, so we hope that this helps you for your next stay and don’t forget to sign up to receive our special offers, every little helps! See you soon.

Kind Regards

James Sharp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have recently returned from Sidholme Hotel having stayed there for 7 days. This was our 5th year and we are never disapointed, it always feels like home from home. We stay in room 40, a very spacious family room which is worth the 35steps up to it !! The swimming pool is fantastic and always a bonus whatever the weather. This beautiful hotel has 9 acres of well maintained gardens to enjoy a peaceful stroll in, or sit and relax. All the staff are very friendly and helpful and the food here is excellent. We have again booked to return next year for our holiday, as we have not yet found a better place.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the hotel in preference to the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, General Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, I am delighted you and your family enjoy staying with us for the past 5 years and look for forward to the next 5 !

It is always so nice to have positive feedback regarding our hotel. We take great pride in what we do and this feedback has been shared with the team. I am also pleased to say that we are holding our prices for next year, so we hope that this helps you for your next stay and don’t forget to sign up to receive our special offers, every little helps! See you soon.
Kind Regards

James Sharp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

u have to be in before dark and tea-total and if ur unlucky enough to get a joined on room u will no more feel like ur staying in a hotel than having a drink at the missing hotelbar.it was very poor it was a shame ruined our stay. and complaints fell on deaf ears very un-christian

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, General Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
I am genuinely sorry that you had a disappointing experience of Sidholme Hotel and surprised about your comments regarding that the hotel being teetotal as we do have a full licence to serve alcoholic beverages at Sidholme Hotel. This is operated via waiter service and not from a bar. I am even more surprised by your comment as I discover that your party had been served and paid for 8 bottles of Budweiser. With regards to your comments about having “to be in before dark” our hotel does lock its doors at 11:30pm as per our information packs and information given on check-in. When giving this information the receptionist asks if guests if they require a Late Key for access should they think they may be out later than this. The doors are locked for the security and safety of our guests and of the property, like many hotels, and we do provide a member of staff on call should a guest require assistance etc.

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you felt that your comments had fallen “on deaf ears.” I can assure you that they have not and that my Operations Manager, who spoke with you during your stay, took your feedback on board. We do hope that you may return in the future so that we can show you that we pride ourselves being a friendly and approachable team.

Kind regards

James Sharp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Sidholme hotel is owned by the Christian Guild but operates as any luxury hotel with absolutely no religious pressure. This beautiful mansion-style hotel stands in 9 acres of gardens. The buildings and gardens are meticulously maintained and clean. We stayed for two nights in Room 6 which was amazing. Architectualy beautiful, an internal bay window! And en-suite shower/w.c. (see video on their website). 10 minute gentle stroll to the beach, much less to Sidmouth centre. A wonderful place to stay, we highly recommend it and will book again when visiting Sidmouth area. Brian & Nickkie

Room Tip: Book for the house not the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, General Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, I am delighted you both enjoyed staying with us.
We are extremely fortunate to be located so close to the town centre of Sidmouth and the beach and yet set back far enough to allow yourself to think you are in the peaceful countryside.

I am glad you felt that no religious pressure was put upon you during your stay.

It is always so nice to have positive feedback regarding our hotel. We take great pride in what we do and this feedback has been shared with the team. I am also pleased to say that we are holding our prices for next year, so we hope that this helps you for your next stay and don’t forget to sign up to receive our special offers, every little helps! See you soon.

Kind Regards

James Sharp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Such a lovely place for a shortbreak!! Better going in August to enjoy the traditional Folk Music Festival.

Lovely staff, nice food, beautiful gardens, wonderfull indoor swimming pool!!

I wanna come back asap!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, General Manager at Sidholme Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

What can I say about your title "Made in Heaven" apart from simply, thank you.

It is always so nice to have positive feedback regarding our hotel. We take great pride in what we do and this feedback has been shared with the team. I am also pleased to say that we are holding our prices for next year, so we hope that this helps you for your next stay and don’t forget to sign up to receive our special offers, every little helps! See you soon.

Kind Regards

James Sharp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed for a night at the Sidholme. It had a nice indoor pool and was situated in lovely grounds. A great breakfast was served, though the dining room is rather old fashioned. The room was clean and comfortable. As Atheists we weren't made to feel any different, and the believers we met at breakfast were friendly enough. Only 10 min walk from the sea front.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sidholme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidholme Hotel

Address: Elysian Fields | Vicarage Rd, Sidmouth EX10 8UJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sidholme Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
72 bedroom Hotel and can accommodate up to 133 guests, including a number of ground floor rooms and 2 disabled rooms. All the bedrooms at Sidholme Hotel include Fair-Trade tea and coffee making facilities and hair-dryers. Bedrooms do not have televisions, however a comfortable television room is easily located within the Hotel. Parking is free for Guests of the Hotel.This gracious Georgian mansion has been welcoming guests for 80 years with a Christian ethos. It was originally built for the 6th Earl of Buckinghamshire and was known as Richmond Lodge. It is particularly noted for its magnificent Music Room, complete with fine chandeliers and Gothic-style organ.Well suited to the holiday maker and conference delegate alike, who can work, rest or play in its peaceful and relaxing surroundings.The hotel is located in nine acres of delightful grounds and when staying you have complimentary use of our Indoor Heated Swimming PoolThe hotel is only a few minutes walk from the centre of the town of Sidmouth with its splendid coastline, newly appointed as part of the Jurassic Coast World Heritage Site. Please be informed that the hotel does not have lift facilities.Sidholme Hotel is part of Christian Guild group of Hotels and we welcome everyone, guests are free to take part with as much or as little of the daily activities as they wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Sidholme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidholme Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sidholme Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.