We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1) Step from front lobby to the lounge bar needs to be addressed for safely 2) Food poor and needs improvement” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Ball Inn

Blue Ball Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Ball Inn
Save
You added Blue Ball Inn to your Saves list
Steven's Cross, Sidmouth EX10 9QL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 34 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“1) Step from front lobby to the lounge bar needs to be addressed for safely 2) Food poor and needs improvement”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

1) Step from front entrance lobby to the lounge bar - needs to be addressed for safely
2) Food dull - needs improvement to retain local customers

1) Issue about the Step from the lobby to the lounge bar

My wife and I together with my elderly mother-in-law visited the Blue Ball (a pub local to our home) at lunchtime on a Friday 6th September 2013.

On entering the bar from the front lobby a couple sitting in the lobby warned us about the step down into the bar, so we entered the lounge bar with caution stepping down the single step and sat at the table to the left of the door.

Shortly after we sat down, a lady coming into the the lounge bar from the lobby, did not notice the single step, she missed her footing and fell over landing in heap on the hard floor. She was noticeably shaken and hurt by her fall and took a little time to recover. She was helped up from the floor by her partner and a member of the bar staff.

The Blue Ball Management should consider addressing the hazard of the step and implement a design solution to make it safer for all clientele!.
.

2) Issue about the food - needs improvement to retain local customers

We ordered drinks over the bar, then ordered, a crab sandwich, a prawn sandwich, both with granary bread, and a bowl of soup with brown bread which was delivered to our table fairly promptly. No accompaniments were offered to go with our meal.

The plate with the crab sandwich and the plate with the prawn sandwich, came with a dry salad, of lettuce, cherry tomatoes and red onion rings, and a few broken crisps. The crab in the sandwich was dry, undressed, white crab meat with no flavouring or embellishment, the salad lacked any dressing. The prawn sandwich came with a few prawns in a mayonnaise type dressing, with dry salad and crisps. The overall presentation and taste of the sandwiches, salad and crisps was poor and fairly unappetizing.

The tomato and pepper soup, presented in a small bowl, with a few small rounds of brown bread, was hot and quite tasty. The soup and bread were passable but not outstanding.

Our experience at the Blue Ball on this occasion was very disappointing in terms of presentation, food flavour, and general service.

The Blue Ball Management needs to pay more attention to improving their service and ensuring that their food both looks and tastes good at all times.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    22
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
13
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Just had lunch at blue ball. 2 prawn cocktails to start. Prawns ok, not enough sauce, lettuce full of water, no lemon wedge, miserable tomato/cucumber garish. Mains: steak and kidney pudding. Too much suet pastry, not enough meat (disappointing as they used to do the best around). Chips overcooked and full of grease. Annihilated vegetables. Spare ribs: emphasis on quantity rather than quality in this dish. Salad garnish was ok, chips poor, ribs ok, sauce was homemade but had a lot of fat in it, coleslaw was poor. Would have mentioned problems to waitress but no check back until we 'finished'. We ate till we were full because we were hungry, but nothing made us want to return. Decor and cleanliness were good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

1st time we have eaten here while stopping at Glebe house, very good food and service and the prices were very reasonable,good range of dishes and specials. staff were very friendly, will be back again !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We came to the Blue Ball Inn for something to eat when we were staying in Sidmouth. We noticed that the menu had a wide range of foods at a very reasonable price. There were also a good selection of specials on the blackboards.

We chose mature cheddar ploughman's lunch (£8.50) and a glass of cider as we were not looking for a huge meal. The Ploughman's was of an excellent size with crusty white and brown baguettes, mixed salad, apple, pickled onions, chutney, cheese and plenty of butter.

Other good aspects of this pub restaurant were the pleasant staff, a large car-park on the other side of the road. It is also dog friendly and has a good garden. It was clearly a very popular restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We stopped off on the way home after a couple of days at Sidmouth Folk week.

We looking for a cooked breakfast! :)

The service was incredibly friendly and the meal was great. We went away wishing more pubs had staff that actually appeared to care about their customers. These guys certainly did.

We'd definitely go back if we're in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This attractive, country inn on the outskirts of Sidmouth proved to be a lovely place to both sleep and eat. The bedrooms are spotless and the residents' lounge contains a fridge with fresh milk and bottled water provided free of charge, as is the wifi. The room I stayed in was inviting and welcoming with crisp, white bedlinen on the comfortable beds. The furniture is simple and practical with a hairdryer, fan, kettle and complimentary teas, coffee, chocolate and biscuits all supplied. The bathroom however, is excellent. It appeared to be newly refurbished in a modern style and had a spacious bath and shower combination with good water flow from the showerhead. Although the room overlooked the road, which was reasonably busy in the height of the summer season, the traffic died right down during the night. We were able to have our window wide open and were relatively undisturbed by the occasional car during the night.

All the staff were both friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The food at breakfast and dinner was beautifully cooked and they ensure that residents are able to eat there, even if they are given very little notice on a busy night, as happened during our visit. In fact, we enjoyed the meal so much that we decided to eat there 2 nights on the trot and invited some friends to join us! Once again they accommodated us all and everyone enjoyed their meal. When we asked if we could play some music in the bar, the staff were again most accommodating (well, we were there during Folk week!)

Breakfast lived up to that old saying of 'breakfast like a king'. It was huge! And beautifully cooked too - the scrambled egg and smoked salmon was a large portion of well cooked eggs and four good quality slices of salmon. I didn't need to eat again until dinner time! However, the waitress on duty is definitely the most cheerful early morning bird I have ever met. Despite being very busy (the inn was full), she was both efficient, friendly and full of joy!

The Blue Ball Inn is what it says on the tin, an unpretentious country inn. However, it punches far above its weight with the superb and friendly service and all the little additional touches it adds that put many a more 'upmarket' place to shame. If you're ever in the area, go and stay there but don't go during Folk week as it will be full!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have been past this place a number of times and thought it looked nice so when we needed somewhere for a night in the area I booked the Blue Ball. You have to cross a very busy road to get to the pub/hotel from the car park which is a bit unnerving and I had expected something a it more stylish than a simple country pub - which is what the Blue Ball turned out to be. Having said that the staff were pleasant and the room was very nice - except for the noise of the traffic on that busy road.
The place turned out to be very busy but we got a pub table for our evening meal - great chips. The choice for vegetarians was not extensive or especially imaginative - the reputation is for good fish and seafood, I think.
We had a surprisingly good night's sleep, thanks to the excellent secondary glazing and had a decent breakfast before leaving.

Room Tip: The front rooms over the road are noisy from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Ball Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ball Inn

Address: Steven's Cross, Sidmouth EX10 9QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Blue Ball Inn Sidmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Ball Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.