We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cream teas excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clock Tower Tearooms

Clock Tower Tearooms
Connaught Gardens, Peak Hill Road, Sidmouth EX10 9QY, England
01395515319
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 69 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Hythe, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“cream teas excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

lovelly setting , cream tea was excellent and good overall value. The gardens were very tranquil and altogether a very pleasant experience

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    66
    15
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Excellent, friendly service, excellent choice on menu, excellent quality, freshly cooked. Just excellent!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“cream tea to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

best cream tea ive ever had.was there on the 28th september wonderful scones baked fresh on the premises, ,super service nothing was to much trouble.It thought i had landed in the land of the giant by the size of the cakes,but the taste was great as well.views spectacular as well

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Are there better places in England to enjoy a cuppa?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My answer is 'no'. We recently stayed for ten days in Sidmouth. Everyday, except for one, we just had to enjoy afternoon tea in the gardens at this tearoom. The scones and cakes are generous and delicious. One day I could not resist the strawberry roulade. The slice filled a large dinner plate. Everyone I passed on my way to the table my wife had occupied stared at the cake in disbelief. I begun to feel very greedy and only the fact I was sharing it with my wife saved my conscience. It was delicious. The one day we did not have tea we had breakfast! My mini cooked breakfast was very tasty and as for my wife's mushrooms on toast, she said she had never tasted better. We also have met some delightful people in these gardens. As the tables are quite large we often share a table and have had some very interesting conversations.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Huge portions.....and a great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

A great tea room overlooking Sidmouth. Not only do you get a fantastic view you also get great food and service. Such a wide variety of cakes and desserts, that will keep you full all day as they are such big portions, but you won't want to share.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clock Tower Tearooms also viewed

 

Been to Clock Tower Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clock Tower Tearooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.