We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LUNCH MUNCH” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Ball Inn Restaurant

The Blue Ball Inn Restaurant
Steven's Cross | Sidford, Sidmouth EX10 9QL, England
+44 1395 514062
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 69 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Price range: $2 - $2
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Honiton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“LUNCH MUNCH”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My wife and I had a lovely lunch. We ordered sandwiches and thought we would need chips as a side dish, thinking that we might still be peckish. The lunch was enormous! We did not need chips as an accompaniment but, greedily, we ate them. My wife had a beef sandwich. The beef was cooked rare to her taste. I had crab and it was mainly white meat and plenty of it. The main ingredients were sourced locally. The lunch was washed down with a Cornish ale. Perfect! Service was prompt and the staff were friendly and efficient. There was a good vegetarian menu so we will go there again when our veggie relatives visit later this month.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    78
    38
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Budleigh Salterton, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“VG Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Met friends at the Blue Ball for lunch. Nice, friendly atmosphere, good menu with lots of specials, good range of wines and beers on offer.

Steak sandwich was well presented and very tasty as was the bowl of chips we shared. Steak and kidney pudding was also enjoyed.

Not my first visit and certainly not my last.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We arrived just as the Carvery was ending, but very kindly they extended the time to enable us to get a drink and a seat. The gentleman carving the meats gave us both large helpings of turkey and pork and we helped ourselves to a good selection of veg. I'm not normally a carvery fan but the meal was delicious.
Huge indoor seating areas and large outdoor patios and seating.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Reliable but average pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Been to the Blue ball plenty of times and came here on Monday after rubbish try at the newly updated Bowd.

The Blue Ball will never win a Michelin star, it's just a decent pub grub place but it does it well. The bar service was good, friendly, efficient with good wine and clean glasses. The food came out hot and well cooked. Overall it was a really good experience compared to the other pub but it is what it is which is good old fashioned pub grub.

Happy to come here again, it's the best in the area and I only live about 2 miles away.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Top service, great food and reasonable prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The title says it all. The menu and specials board will have something for all tastes. Service was quick and surroundings very pleasant.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Ball Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Ball Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Ball Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.