We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couldnt want for more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brookfields B&B

Brookfields B&B
Brookfields B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brookfields B&B
Brookfields, Venn Ottery Road, Newton Poppleford | Newton Poppleford, Sidmouth EX10 0BU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 34 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
mevagissey in cornwall
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“couldnt want for more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

one nights stay was all we had but David and Rosemary made us feel so welcome nothing was to much trouble such a warm and cosy place lovely breakfast everything spotless only a stopover this time but will definately return for a couple days -David and Rosemary see you soon

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
15
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
WanntageUK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I'm disabled, in a wheelchair. My wife and I went there because it's disabled friendly. Brookfields proved to be better than I'd dared hope. It's run by a couple, David and Rosemary Zirker, who'd previously owned a nursing home and therefore understood my needs well. Our bedroom had a wetroom en suite which, of course, is ideal. There was plenty of room both sides of the bed. And the breakfasts were amazing. David and Rosemary seek out the best from every source, working on the principle that they give their guests what they themselves would like. And they are excellent and generous cooks. When we eating out at midday, we had the continental option - well, you can't do much with that, can you? It was fine, but not as extraordinarily yummy as the full English.
We really like the area, near Exeter, Exmouth and of course the Jurassic coast. On the Sunday evening we went into Exmouth, sat and watched the sun going down over the beach before going to one of our favourite churches in the town. Afterwards we sought out and sampled Krispies' award-winning fish and chips, which I have to say were just as good as their reputation. Back at the B&B we were plied with sloe gin and red wine - "and so to bed" after a great day.
I suppose what was best about Brookfields was the hospitality. It isn't the hotel-type B&B; it's not a chintzy guest house; it's very much a home. Even Axy, the dog, is friendly and welcoming. And of course you're not paying hotel prices. It's a good idea to phone before you go, as David and Rosemary will discuss your needs with you and do all they can to help.

Room Tip: If you're disabled, then Green is the one for you. You'll find David and Rosemary very helpf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

David and Rosemary were perfect hosts. From the greeting at the Car to the Tea and scones on arrival. The room was very comfortable with a wet room for an ensuite. Comfortable beds gave us a good nights sleep and Breakfast was cooked to order at a time to suit us with anything we wanted. Nothing seemed too much trouble.
I would highly recomend this B&B and will definately visit again.
PS They have a really lovely very friendly dog.

Room Tip: We had the green room with ensuite shower in wet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

David and Rosemary were perfect hosts. We had the blue room which was very spacious with fabulous en-suite bathroom with a lovely deep bath, which was very welcome to soak away the aches and pains from a 12 mile walk in the beautiful local countryside. The breakfast was cooked to perfection with a good choice and served at a time to suit us. The offer of a cream tea after our long hike was gratefully received too! Would love to return again sometime!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We could not have been more welcomed by David and Rosemary who are not only lovely, friendly people but also excellent, attentive hosts. We were welcomed after a long journey by tea and biscuits and their lovely friendly dog, Axie. We immediately felt at home. After an enjoyable but somewhat expensive evening meal at 'The Jack in the Green' we were treated to a night cap in the lounge which was unexpected and a lovely end to our first evening. The breakfasts were excellent with everything you could possible think of being on offer with real coffee, fresh, top quality croissants and lovely creamy scrambled egg, all a time to suit you and in the quantities you wanted. You really felt they had gone the extra mile to make it a treat. We stayed in the Green room which was very large, had plenty of storage and was nice and quiet, a very comfortable room. The next day Rosemary baked us fresh scones for a cream tea in the afternoon which was a lovely thought and thoroughly enjoyable. We really felt at home staying with David and Rosemary, like staying with friends and they could not have done more to make our stay enjoyable with lots of added little treats to make it really memorable. I would highly recommend Brookfields to anyone that likes a personal, high quality service in lovely surroundings at a very reasonable price. Thank you so much David and Rosemary, we will definately be returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

David and Rosemary and Axie (friendly dog) were great hosts.We were greeted and given a warm welcome from the start of our four day break. We knew that they were there if you needed them but were given total freedom and become temporary members of the household. Superb company and great breakfast, great accommodation and very clean and tidy room.We were greeted by Axie on return to the house each time.
We had the grey carpeted room with shower.It had clean fixtures and fittings and even a view of the local wildlife including a squirrel and birdlife. There were some great restuarants both in the local village of Newton Poppleford and in Sidmouth too.Worth a special mention was The Cinnamon Tree (Indian) in Sidmouth.
Local visits included Sidmouth,Exmouth,Budleigh Salterton and Beer and Topsham antiques - great place

Paul,Tracey,Winchester

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We've just come back from spending a week at Brookfields. Our hosts, Rosemary and David, along with Axi, their beautiful and gentle german shepherd dog made us feel very welcome from day one. Our room (Green) was very comfortable and roomy and very good for the less mobile with a wet room bathroom. The breakfasts were superb and were available at a time to suit us - something other establishments should take note of. The location is very good and is away from the main road in Newton Poppleford making it very peaceful. We will make a return visit and we highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: For the less mobile, the green room is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brookfields B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfields B&B

Address: Brookfields, Venn Ottery Road, Newton Poppleford | Newton Poppleford, Sidmouth EX10 0BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable luxury in a quiet yet central setting very close to pub restaurants, public transport and attractions. We cater for all ages, including the elderly, disabled and young families. WiFi, fax and printer services available. We offer a very personalised service with breakfast when you want it. Play area for children, cream teas included, use of lounge and facilities for the disabled. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brookfields B&B Sidmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookfields B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Brookfields B&B to your Saves list