We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing, quiet location with a homely welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brookfields B&B

Brookfields B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brookfields B&B
Save
You added Brookfields B&B to your Saves list
Brookfields, Venn Ottery Road, Newton Poppleford | Newton Poppleford, Sidmouth EX10 0BU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 34 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A relaxing, quiet location with a homely welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

If you are looking for a relaxing break to get away from the stresses of life then this establishment is for you. Located in an off the beaten track part of the charming village of Newton Poppleford this B & B is home from home. David and Rosemary offer a friendly welcome and are passionate about making you feel at home. The rooms are clean and well equipped and the beds so comfortable. The breakfasts were fantastic allowing you to choose what items you want and the quantities - we found them so filling that we had no need to eat until the evening. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend break and are looking forward to futher visits.

Room Tip: The blue room has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
19
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Attended a friend's wedding in Newton Poppleford, and stayed for two nights. Very clean room, excellent breakfast. Friendly and engaging hosts.Their German Shepard is a gentle giant! Would absolutely recommend Brookfields.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

We were directed to a neighbors...Southern Cross...which was such a wonderful quaint B/B. Brookfields had made a mistake on our arrival date and it was to our advantage. They seem to be very nice folks. But I think we got the best end of that deal. SCross was so very neat, clean and uncluttered. The tea room was absolutely the best. This worked out for us. I would recommend Southern Cross...not Brookfields.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

ROSEMARY & DAVID, were excellent hosts,extremely welcoming,they made us feel like one of the family,if your idea, of an ideal home from home is bed and breakfast in an idillic location,then this is the place to go,would highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Travelled down with a disabled friend for 4 days, have still not recovered from the breakfasts! Excellent facilities for those in wheelchairs, nothing was too much trouble for the owners, even the big dog is friendly and helpful, was an excellent stay and i would recomend it to anyone!

Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

The place is magnificent. Lovely house, immaculate rooms, beds SO comfortable we nearly lost forever two of our friends, and the warmth, generosity, hospitality and TLC with which David and Rosemary run it is second to none.

I'm 43 years old, and stopped in a lot of hotels and bed and breakfasts over the years, but never been so overwhelmed by the loveliness of the people who run it.

I miss them already, and am DEFINITELY going back. Thank you, you made my time their feel better than being at home.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

We can’t recommend Brookfields too highly. It has lovely views and is situated down a quiet country lane with secure parking. Our bedroom and en suite was equipped with everything you need; a really comfortable bed with high quality towels and linen, plus a digital TV.
We were warmly welcomed on arrival with tea, freshly baked scones, cream and home made jam. You can use the lounge and TV or sit on their sunny patio as long as you like. Breakfast is served when you want it and is all you could ask for.
All this and just a short distance from the sea and the city of Exeter.
David and Rosemary really made us welcome to their home and they deserve every success.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brookfields B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfields B&B

Address: Brookfields, Venn Ottery Road, Newton Poppleford | Newton Poppleford, Sidmouth EX10 0BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable luxury in a quiet yet central setting very close to pub restaurants, public transport and attractions. We cater for all ages, including the elderly, disabled and young families. WiFi, fax and printer services available. We offer a very personalised service with breakfast when you want it. Play area for children, cream teas included, use of lounge and facilities for the disabled. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brookfields B&B Sidmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookfields B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.