We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“16th Birthday Party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel to your Saves list
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sidmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“16th Birthday Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just held my daughter's 16th birthday party at the Hotel in the very beautiful Kingswood room, I cannot praise the hotel and staff enough. It was a fantastic evening, the food was excellent, the staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive and the service overall was first class. A special thank you to Jo Watson, for all of her help in putting this together for us.
Many thanks to the whole team at the hotel for making this an unforgettable evening.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    32
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
32
54
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wyvern
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Have just returned from a 3 night stay, with my parents who haven't been away due to serious illness for the last six years.This hotel was absolutely the right choice for a friendly and informal break,good value in terms of accommodation and food, with excellent service and a fabulous location. Met a number of people who return to the hotel regularly and I can certainly see why.It was refreshing to be served by staff who appear to enjoy and take a pride in their work.Many thanks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

My friend had her 60 th birthday celebration in the function room. There was 36 of us and it was a wonderful evening . The staff were so attentive and polite , everything was just perfect. Food was excellent as was the wine .tables beautifully laid out and Tina who played guitar and songs was wonderful.. I'm very grateful to all the staff there to making my friends birthday so rememberable.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

It did not take long to discover this seafront hotel's secret of success: its attentive and friendly staff and its old-fashioned charm and style.
They ensure people keep coming back, particularly older ones - we learned from one fellow guest that he knows of people who have been returning year after year, even choosing the same room and dining table - truly a home from home!
Our room was small, but comfortable and although it did not have a sea view, this did not matter as our stay was short.
It had some nice pictures and there is plenty of hanging and drawer space.
Tea and coffee making facilities are good and the hotel serves complimentary tea and cakes in the afternoon - a nice touch, particularly for older guests needing a mid-afternoon pick-me-up without having to go up to their room.
The bathroom was immaculately clean with new floor and wall tiles, and a pristine white suite.
There was no bath, only a shower and the water pressure was not high, but again this was acceptable as our stay was short.
There were plenty of towels and a radiator to warm them.
Luckily we had booked a parking space, as parking is clearly at a premium; but the hotel has done its best with the restricted space and offers help should visitors have problems manoeuvring.
The seagulls ensure you are woken early, but this is to be expected in a seaside town.
Breakfast was good with a range of fresh fruit, cereals and juices.
Cooked food and toast are served by the staff, which was a surprise - most hotels of this size would have a serve-yourself buffet with toast machine - but this all adds to its old-fashioned charm and service.
This hotel is expensive compared with chains of its standard, but it scores by having plenty of staff who are friendly, efficient and attentive.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than a few days it is worth having a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-avon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

recently spent a break at this hotel in room 204, and can honestly say that we had a really relaxing time. the staff were all friendly and helpful..rooms clean, warm and comfortable. food was good with lots of variety.

would most definately stay here again and have no qualms about recommending this to friends.

keep up the good work.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We went at the end of September in a group of 24 for a few days of croquet in Sidmouth, staying at the Kingswood & Devoran.
The staff were very helpful and friendly the food was good. The room was small but adequate,comfortable and well decorated ( the view was not great but you dont spend that much time in your room ). The main problem with the hotel is the parking, if you do not book a place at the hotel you have to try and find a place on the road or in one of the car parks around the town.
ps the croquet lawns are excellent.

Room Tip: Sea veiw rooms have a better outlook than back rooms, but you will still here the gulls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just a note to other travellers to be careful when booking. I booked a birthday meal several weeks in advance at The Dukes restaurant. When we got there they had no note of the booking and said they could clear a table in the bar for us, this was far from ideal and we were all very disappointed. I started to make a fuss as I had booked several weeks ago and at least I wanted a table in the restaurant. I was informed they had no tables but they were confused as evidently all the restaurant bookings had only been made that morning. The lady concerned then had the thought that the booking may have been made at their sister establishment The Kingswood and Devoran, of which I had never heard of. She rang through and they did indeed have a booking for us and she kindly walked us around as it was only next door. We were welcomed in, sat down in their lounge, a drinks order was taken and menus supplied. From then on we had an excellent evening. We were given a table in the window overlooking the sea, the food and service were excellent and we had a superb evening. The hotel was pitched just right, not as exclusive as somewhere like The Belmont but above a normal restaurant like The Dukes. The staff were all extremely friendly and I thought the food was extremely good value for money and very good quality. Everyone in our party was impressed and we would certainly go there again. So what could have started out as a disappointment ended up as a great success and a lot better than our original intention. We certainly landed on our feet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dukessidmouth, General Manager at The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We apologise for the mix up with your table reservation, we have a central telephone system so when Dukes's line is busy it transfers to our sister hotels and as a result your reservation was made in the Kingswood and Devoran.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#6 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing retreat at the centre of Sidmouth's delightful regency seafront, now providing 50 bedrooms, whilst retaining the ambiance, service and hospitality for which the hotel has been known for nearly 100 years. With its close proximity to the town centre, it is ideal for exploring the towns excellent variety of independent shops. The flower filled patio and lounges both overlook the sea with stunning views of the World Heritage Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingswood And Devoran Hotel
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.