We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away for reunion!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bedford Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bedford Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bedford Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8NR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Sidmouth
Maldon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Weekend away for reunion!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Very pleasant stay. Accommodation good value for money. Helpful and friendly staff. Coeliac request accommodated. Good weather an added bonus! Lovely room with balcony and sea views. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmy006, Owner at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We are very pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you would recommend The Bedford to others. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we would very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    44
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
24
64
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sepon Lao PDR
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Enjoyed our stay , pleasant Hotel, staff were friendly and helpful , the prices were reasonable and would definatley stay there again if we were in the area, There are plenty of places to eat nearby, we chose a Thai one night and it was great

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just returned from a short coach holiday at the Bedford Hotel, Sidmouth. Very pleased with the attention paid by owner and staff, we had one small problem in the room on the first night and Mr Pyne resolved it with speed and courtesy.
Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Food, for a tour party was very good and plentiful. Absolutely no complaints, couldn't understand any of the previous winges.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here 23 to 28th September 2012. The Hotel was comfortable and the staff were helpful and pleasant but the food was ruined by, I hate to call him a Chef, One of the nights the meal came out and was only lukewarm and several of our party said afterwards we should have sent it back but foolishly we did not. On Thursday evening a few of us had fis and when it came out the fish was cold, not even warm and was raw in places. Seven of us sent the meal back and it was returned to us having been warmed up. The vegetable had been left on the table during the warming of our meal and we had to ask for fresh warm vegetables> I would not visit this Hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a really nice hotel. The staff were pleaseant and helful. It is located on the seafront and less than five minutes walk to the bus stop. I had a room overlooking the seafront, (room 26) it was light and airy. However I was travelling alone and I think if there had been two of us this room would have been a bit small. The bathroom (shower only) was also a bit dinky. I ate in the dinning room and consider the food very good value for the money I paid. I would use this hotel again but if my wife was with me, I would ask for a larger room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here during Sidmouth Folk week. The room (#9) was very comfortable and large by UK standards with an ensuite. We only had breakfast there (which was good) so can't really comment on the food. The staff were friendly and efficient.

A fridge in the room would be a good addition, otherwise everything was fine and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: # 9 is on the first floor and is quite large - not a seafront room though if that is important to yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have always wanted to stay in Sidmouth over the festival week and to have a sea facing balcony to watch the final night parade. We knew we had to book early and we did last year but most of our first choices we booked up so we went down the list until we found the Bedford had a vacancy with sea facing balcony.

This is a family run hotel, not a chain hotel, it is unique with ots own character. We had a great 2 night stay, the staff were genuinely friendly from the minute we stepped into the foyer and our room was ready at 12.00 rather thanhaving to wait until 2pm. The only meals we had were breakfast and they were really good...not too much...just enough with various choices and service was quick and timely.

The beds were comfy and the room very clean and tidy.We had a large balcony overlooking the sea and had a cracking view of the torch light parade and firework display on the last night. The general ambience of this hotel is friendly and quirky...floors do slope a bit but hey its a few hundred years old.

No concerns at all and would definatley stay there again.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 12, big large balcony and great views up and down the coast and out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedford Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bedford Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Grade II* listed building The Bedford Hotel is a 3*** hotel run by the Pyne Family. Located at the heart of Sidmouth seafront means many rooms boast breathtaking views of Lyme Bay. All rooms are individually furnished, have flat screen televisions and en suite facilities. There is lift access to both floors. The hotel also has comfortable lounges and offers a wide selection of good food and wine in a choice of attractive surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bedford Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bedford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.