We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Slough

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Slough to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Slough
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mill Street, Slough SL2 5DD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Slough
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A very good hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed at HIEX Slough for a family trip to Legoland and Windsor. Everything was as expected from the hotel and we had a very enjoyable stay. Couple of negatives were the small car park, (however we did successfully park in the station car park overnight with no trouble at all), and the amount of people at breakfast but this was more than made up by the wonderful staff who worked very hard to ensure all their guests were happy. Would definitely return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Slough, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.
I really appreciate your comments about the staff. They all work very hard and are a real asset for the company.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.
Kind regards,
Linda Bene
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    226
    119
    42
    31
See reviews for
234
101
33
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Upon arriving at the hotel we were informed that there was a problem with flooding & that they wanted to relocate us to a different hotel 10 mins away. The manager said he'd been trying to contact us all day: I had no missed calls on the number he claimed to have called, and he said he hadn't left a message as it rang out (impossible, as it goes to answerphone) & he didn't think to e-mail us. Other people were checking in at this time without a problem, so I'm not sure why they had decided that we were the ones to be relocated. We had to be really assertive & say that if we had wanted to stay elsewhere, we would have booked elsewhere (especially seeing as other hotels 10 mins away were cheaper). As we had booked multiple rooms & were waiting for other members of our party to arrive (from the train station next door to the hotel, hence our booking this hotel in the first place), we really didn't want to be moved elsewhere. Eventually the manager capitulated & agreed to let us stay. Or arriving in our room we were without a cot that we had ordered, but this is probably down to the reshuffling. This incident aside, the staff were actually really nice & friendly.
The rooms were fine - cheap and cheerful. Breakfast was chaotic - the industrial toast machine was broken both mornings and the choice of food was limited, but that's to be expected for a budget hotel.
Parking was free and we were lucky enought to get a spot.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Slough, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback about the hotel.
Please accept my sincere apology for the confusion at check in. There seemed to be a mixed up with your booking. I am glad my Duty Manager managed to resolve the issue at the time.
I am hoping to welcome you back in our hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Linda Bene
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

AVOID!! DO NOT STAY!!

Stayed in this hotel whilst attending a wedding nearby. When I came back from the wedding I discovered my laptop was missing.

Investigations by police found that a Master Key was used to gain access to my room; a key which the hotel staff supposedly deactivated after it was reported missing a few days before. Police also told me the same key was used to gain access to a room 2 days before my stay to steal a guests iPad.

Disgraceful treatment by staff who still deny liability.

The staff work shifts and it seems there is no communication between any of them as with each new shift I had to explain what had happened.

The night staff were the first people I told about my stolen laptop. They seem clueless as to what to do. I asked to speak to a manager and they said there wasn't one on site and they refused to call her as it "would inconvenience her at this hour".

DO NOT STAY!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Slough, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Akash A,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Slough, England. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

It's difficult to rate this hotel as amazing because it isn't meant to be.

It is what it is, it provides suitable accommodation at a good price.

The positives of the hotel:
- Free Breakfast
- Free Wifi
- Comfortable clean rooms
- Right next to Slough station
- Air conditioning in the rooms
- Family room for up to 4 people

The negatives of the hotel:
- Small breakfast serving area so pushing and shoving
- It's located in Slough which is not a particular nice area
- Car park is very small, we arrived early got a space and didn't drive out until we left otherwise we would have lost it.
- Bath towels are too small
- Limited storage in the rooms, not helpful for longer stays
- TV is limited freeview which is ok but has no guide!

We stayed in it to visit Legoland, just 7 miles away, thanks to the volume of traffic coming off the M4, it took us 50 minutes to get there, so if you do the same (several other families there were) leave earlier, i'd say 9ish to get there in good time.

The Highways Agency helpfully put up a sign saying "For Legoland - Use Alternative Route" when it was too late to do so.

Room Tip: We were 1st floor away from the station which was a bit quieter but i'd imagine a high room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Slough, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased you had a comfortable stay but apologise that we fell short in some areas. We take all feedback very seriously and will ensure that your comments are fed back to the departments mentioned within your review.
Kind regards,
Linda Bene
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights as a base for Legoland and London, whilst there the staff could not be of more help from the moment we checked in to the day we left. Two staff member's in particular - Arron & Sana who both went out of their way for us ensuring our stay was a comfortable as possible.
The hotel is in a great location for trains into London, the breakfast was great - although we did miss the bacon. The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable and the shower was super!
Would most definitely stay there again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Slough, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely review about our hotel.
We are very pleased to hear that you had such a fantastic stay! We will ensure that your feedback is passed on to the team and very much look forward to seeing you at the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Linda Bene
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is clean and well located in city centre Slough. The breakfast is not great, just the basics.

The staff are nice and hotel is modern, but the parking is very limited and tight. In fact I was really annoyed as my bumper was scuffed and looking at hotel employee cars they were all damaged.... avoid if you have a decent car

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jade M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Slough, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your valued comments with us.
Firstly I was very pleased to learn that you found our hotel clean and the staff here nice. As you have mentioned we are ideally located in central Slough with direct links to central London via Slough train station (directly adjacent to the hotel).
I note your comments regarding the lack of parking within our facilities, however there is in fact ample parking available adjacent to the hotel. Please be assured that the vehicles you have described will not have been any of the team’s here as we do not allow onsite staff parking, reserving these spaces for our valued guest’s.
We will look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best Wishes,
Jade Matten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Booked this as part of a Legoland deal from a travel agent. The hotel was a pleasant surprise. Unlike others we quite enjoyed the quirky toilet-bathroom door design. My wife was raving about the spa like power shower. Free WiFi was great for us checking stuff out and planning and free breakfast just right for our kids. Great news for us after we had forgotten to print off our attraction vouchers and they did that for us. Best of all was that after we had left and gone home up north after a day at Legoland, we realised that we had stupidly managed to leave a coat holding our camera memories behind all of which was forwarded to us promptly after some searching. Aaron the duty manager was behind he search and he's a top notch bloke! Our sincere gratitude to you and Holiday Inn Express at Slough.

Room Tip: Car park fills quickly later in the day. We arrived at about 5pm but people after me were not so for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jade M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Slough, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Kai, thank you for this great feedback.
Firstly I was very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed the facilities we have on offer, especially our funky toilet door design!
It is most unfortunate that you left your coat and camera behind with us, however I was very pleased to hear that Aaron (one of the fabulous Duty Mangers we have in our team) happily assisted with returning this to you. As you have rightly mentioned Aaron is truly a fantastic employee and I will be sure to pass over your kind comments to him.
Once again thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and we will look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.
Best Wishes,
Jade Matten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Slough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Slough

Address: Mill Street, Slough SL2 5DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Slough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Slough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Slough 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Slough is a superbly located Business and Leisure Hotel situated in the heart of the Town Centre. Situated close to the Railway Station with its links to the West Country and London Paddington to the East, amongst hotels in Slough the Holiday Inn Express Slough can easily claim to be the best Business Hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Slough is a 142 bedroom superbly fitted hotel with 6 state-of-the-art Conference suites which are located on top of the 8 storey building. Each bedroom boasts advanced IPTV system with a full range of interactive services from Pay-Per-View movies to Web Radio, comfort cooling and data ports for fast internet access. Considering most Slough Hotels, these amenities are above and beyond the excellent amenities you would expect from the Award Winning Express by Holiday Inn Brand designed simply to make your Business or Leisure stay just perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Slough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Slough Hotel Slough
Holiday Inn Slough
Slough Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Slough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.