We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for an overnight stopover.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baylis House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Baylis House to your Saves list
Baylis House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stoke Poges Lane, Slough SL1 3PB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Slough
Thame, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good for an overnight stopover.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We booked the Baylis as we were catching an early morning train from Slough station. We paid the extra to have a Superior Double but although the room was in the new rear extension I wouldn't have called it superior. The room was very small with a built in wardrobe, standard double bed, two small bedside chest of drawers and a single chair. The tea/coffee making facilities occupied the top of one bedside unit whilst the other was taken up by a telephone, decorative string balls and a tiny alarm clock. No dressing table or anywhere to put your suitcase.
The bathroom was fine until we came to run the hot tap. Only luke warm water as the immersion heater in the tank down the corridor hadn't been turned on. So a wait of 20 minutes before we could have a shower.
On the positive side, it was cheap compared to most other hotels in Slough. It was also very clean and the staff were courteous. So, for an overnighter it was fine but I wouldn't recommend it for any longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    46
    27
    39
    113
See reviews for
66
54
14
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I fall into the category of people who were surprised by the dreadful reviews - they didn't match my experience of the place at all. One or two of the fixtures and fittings are not up to the standard of the rest of the place, but overall it was very good. We were just using the place as a stop-over for Heathrow (as the places around there, pound for pound, are truly awful!). We had a good meal in the restaurant and a good night's sleep in a quiet room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed at baylis house for a one night stop over with friends to visit thorpe park. It is such a beautiful venue. The staff on check in were very friendly and extremely helpful, always at hand to help with any queries i had. The rooms were lovely, clean and comfortable. Plenty of tea and coffee were provided in the room which is ideal for early birds like myself! The bar and restaurant had a great atmosphere and choice of food and drinks! To sum it up i really enjoyed my stay here and will definitely be staying again! I think the reviews on here are really harsh and to be honest really unfair. Me and my friends will be definitely staying again :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Upon arrival, the main house looks stunning and the welcome is very friendly.
I was located in one of the old stable blocks ( don't worry they have been converted) which sadly doesn't reflect the house.The carpets in the public area are shabby, worn and dirty. The walls are equally bad with marks, scuffs and dents. The room was of a reasonable size and had ensuite, double bed, wardrobe etc but again, the carpet was dirty and the overall appearance of the room felt tired and shabby. It obviously had been cleaned in a hurry because rubbish was still under the desk and in drawers.
The bed was comfortable enough, and the bathroom clean. Shower was a huge let down. Large enough to accomodate 2 people but with a water spray strong enough to cover about 1 square inch.
Breakfast was confined to a small room(not the main restaurant I would have guessed) and the "continental offering" looked reasonable enough but the hot offering I had was absolutely awful. My poached eggs were swimming in vinegar so strong that they were in edible.

I think this hotel tries to make it's money from the conferences etc and then have the bedroom money as icing on the cake. Given its location to so many big Corporate companies you would have thought they would have realised that by stepping up their game a bit they could be the best hotel in the area, sadly I think they are the worst. Add to the fact that they charge for Wifi and you have a business hotel that doesn't attract business people.
I can see people have different views on this hotel and yes different things upset different people..I fear there is too much here that will upset everyone. Couldn't and wouldn't recommend ever.

Room Tip: Don't book one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgend
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Well i have got to say after reading the reviews on the way to this hotel (Would not have booked it if i had read them previously!!!) we were very pleased with our stay.
Excellent value for money, we only paid £60 for 2 of us (No Breakfast) and fair play it was fine.
Nice clean room, decorated nicely and a good size bathroom.
We had an evening meal there. its mostly Indian food which was really nice but i had a chicken caeser salad to start and that was not very nice, too much dressing and not enough chicken.
All food was reasonably priced too!!
Sevice was excellent in the hotel and reception.
We stayed there are we were going to Windsor for the day and it was ideal as only about 15 min away.
We didnt have breakfast as it was another £15 and in Windsor we could have had a lovely breakfast for £3.99 each so i wouldn't bother with that at the hotel.
All in all well worth the money just for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue T, Manager at Baylis House, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
I am so glad you found the hotel to be good value and the rooms comfortable. Our staff try and work hard to please and your kind appreciation will encourge them to continue to do their best. We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The accommodation was fairly new and was very acceptable with plenty of room and an excellent shower room.Good value for money with the exception of the breakfast. The hot food was quite cold but the breads and fruits were ok but not special.Quiet location so a good nights sleep is guaranteed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue T, Manager at Baylis House, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your appreciation of the rooms and service. I understand you would have liked the hot buffet to be better and I assure you when you next visit us it will be so. The breakfast chef is aware and will be working on all the points you have mentioned. Please let me know when you are planning to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I recently attended my cousin wedding at Baylis House and it was wonderful experience. I found food was amazing, staff were very polite. This is such a excellent venue and within beautiful ground. I stayed overnight in their accomodation and had a very comfortable night sleep in their new rooms. I am looking for to visiting their restaurant as all my friends have suggested that the food is very good

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue T, Manager at Baylis House, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest
I am so glad you enjoyed the wedding. We do appreciate your feedback. I would love you to visit our award winning restaurant and I promise you will not be disappointed. I will pass on your encouraging remarks to all departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Baylis House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baylis House

Address: Stoke Poges Lane, Slough SL1 3PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Slough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Slough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baylis House 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baylis house is a Grade one listed building situated within 4 acres of landscaped gardens. The historic hotel has modern conferencing and banqueting facilities and newly added luxury rooms. Located just a few minutes walk from the city center it is also only a 5 mins drive from M4, M25 and A40. Ample parking, air-conditioned rooms and an award winning on site restaurant help in meeting the expectations of discerning travellers. Friendly staff will ensure you have a relaxing stay. Join our group of regular guests for free room upgrades and inclusive deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Baylis House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baylis House Hotel Slough
Baylis Hotel Slough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baylis House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.