We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian food at an English Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Taj Mahal Restaurant

The Taj Mahal Restaurant
57 Coleridge Crescent, Slough SL3 0QD, England
01753686658
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 136 Restaurants in Slough
Price range: $16 - $31
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Faridabad, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Indian food at an English Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Going to a foreign country and getting Indian food is something which we all relish. After days of eating the non indian food, the change was something that we all looked forward to. Getting back to your daal or Indian curries (though they were a little bland for our taste) was a welcome treat.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great curry house close to heathrow airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Found this fantastic restaurant in walking distance from the holiday inn express heathrow terminal 5, great place if you fancy an authentic curry and a short walk before or after your flight, fab food, very very reasonably priced, the food was cooked with pride, you could taste the herbs and spices. I had tandoori salmon starter, lamb madras and lemon rice. Yum yum

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“You need a map !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This place is well tucked away and you would not find it unless you knew it was there - what would we do without smart phones ! It is walking distance from Hilton T5 Hotel. When you find it you will find a spotless, smart, modern, well appointed restaurant. The food is very reasonably priced and was excellent. Staff very good. I definitely recommend this one. There were 7 of us and the restaurant is not huge so I would advise booking, the place was almost full at 7.30pm on a tuesday evening when we went.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Popped in there last night and not overly impressed. Ordered a couple of popodums to get us started which were a bit soft so probably left overs from the day before, we lifted then up and got a glance of the state of the dish they were served in - greasy and had some old dried in sauces so clearly hadn't been washed for a while. Not the best of starts

The starter and main course were just average, they bought us a little device to squeeze lemon out which again needed a good clean!!

The food was ok, nothing special. The bill for two came to close to £50 including a couple of pints and for the same price could've and should've gone to the Zaham in Datchet

Service wasn't particularly welcoming either. Don't think I'll be returning anytime soon

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rofi-6877, Manager at The Taj Mahal Restaurant, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I am sorry to hear you were disapointed with your visit to us,i will look in to this matter i would also like to ask you next you are around get in touch with us and we will make it up to you. Thank you for your honest comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I was invited to the restaurant by friends for an early evening meal (7.00pm).
We were seated immediately, having booked. The waiters soon took our drinks order and gave us our menus.
The menu consisted of the regular Indian restaurant favourites, together with some interesting chef's specials.
All four of our dishes were attractively presented and very tasty.
The bill at the end was a pleasant surprise, especially given the London location.
Recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Taj Mahal Restaurant also viewed

 
Slough, Berkshire
 

Been to The Taj Mahal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Taj Mahal Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.