We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AJ Lodge gets an A*” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A J Lodge Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Slough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A J Lodge Guest House
150 - 151 Oatlands Drive, Slough SL1 3HS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Slough B&B and Inns
Slough
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AJ Lodge gets an A*”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I have stayed here once a week for over 5 years and I am extremely satisfied with the service and facilities.

The manager is very friendly and helpful.

They serve an excellemt cooked breakfast.

All the rooms have TV and there is WI-FI available

I would definately recommend it

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay S, Manager at A J Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We greatly appreciate your loyalty and we always look forward to your stay and weekly chats :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
1
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
winterton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

For the money you pay, this place is good, its not top end of the market but is good enough value if you need a clean bed and breakfast.
The staff are first class and bent over backwards to help me out with any concerns i raised.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Having stayed here for three years, almost every week, I have to say I am satisfied with this B&B. I have spoken to a lot of people who have stayed here too and they are of the opinion that it is a lot better than others in the area. Although I do not have breakfast, I often pop into the kitchen on my way out in the morning and I can assure you, bacon is not cooked in a microwave! The manager is friendly and always sorts out any minor problems quickly and efficiently.
I would recommend A J Lodge to friends and colleagues.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay S, Manager at A J Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We always endeavour to rectify any problems as soon as we can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We look forward to your future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

My family and I stayed at AJ Lodge when we attended a wedding in Windsor. The atmosphere is very friendly, with the owners always at hand to help. The rooms are simple, clean and tidy, having what is needed for a short stay. Breakfast was great - we were even offered extras!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Stayed at this guest house for 1 week and having stayed in hotels and other bed and breakfasts around the area which weren't so good, this was clean, comfortable and staff were very helpful!

Stayed here on a business trip and had a lot of tools and equipment with me, but the guest house had free secure car parking.

Breakfast was served on time and was nice along with staff who were friendly.

Also free wifi and freeview in the rooms :)

Will definitely be staying here again :D

Room Tip: All rooms are great to be honest. I stayed in an en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Terrible place! The rooms were very dirty. There was hair in the bath, bits of rubbish around the edge of the room, the bedside tables hadn't been cleaned and even the lampshades were covered in staines! The plastic bags in the bins were dirty, I can only imagine from where people had thrown out their tea bags before and then the cleaner has emptied the rubbish but bin liner not changed! (if they even have a cleaner) We were working at an event near by, so had to stay by default as everywhere else was booked up, other wise I wouldn't have stayed. Don't believe the 100% positive reviews the owner obviously writes, this place is a nightmare. Take some pride in your business AJ Lodge, respect your guests and clean up. Literally. Your rooms are disgusting.

Room Tip: go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

The whole place is dirty and badly maintained. The shower in my room had only boiling hot water, which meant it was impossible to take a shower. There were things growing in the ceiling. The toilet in my room had not been cleaned and had urine on the seat. The bed sheet had stains on it and there were dirt and hair all over the room.

The guest house is split in two building on each side of a road. The breakfast room is on one side, and the reception is on the other. My room was on the same side as the reception, which meant I had to cross the road to get eat breakfast.

The guest house is located in a dodgy area of Slough, which says a lot.

Breakfast is the cheapest possible, and they cook their bacon in the microwave.... The tables in the breakfast room are dirty like the rest of the place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A J Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A J Lodge Guest House

Address: 150 - 151 Oatlands Drive, Slough SL1 3HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Slough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Slough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A J Lodge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added A J Lodge Guest House to your Saves list