We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay somewhere else!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Slough-Windsor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Slough-Windsor to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Slough-Windsor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Church St, Chalvey, Slough SL1 2NH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Slough
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“stay somewhere else!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We discovered we paid a lot more for our stay than our friends even though it was for the same number of people and same day. Prices are not clear on the holiday inn site and watch out for additional charges. When queried with customer services we were told our friends will also be charged at the desk when checking in but this didn't happen. They seem to tell different stories every time you query. A double bedroom only sleeps 2 people apparently and you will be charged £20 extra per person.

Also watch out for the scam on breakfast deals - you can get a voucher the day before for £10.50 (not cheap) for the breakfast buffet but when turning up in the morning you pay £13.95. Frankly one can not see the reason for this voucher as its a buffet and they are not exactly going to be cooking for your especially. You are better off walking to the pub down the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Slough-Windsor, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Isobel V,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Slough-Windsor, England. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    196
    140
    60
    31
See reviews for
197
74
28
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

First of all, I wanted to visit Windsor Castle and its surroundings, and based on the mixed reviews I've read I booked here; however, I only learned (albeit) too late that this hotel is NOT close to Windsor Castle. In fact you'll have to pay £8-10 for a cab to get to Windsor. Windsor Castle is not a 15-minute walk from this hotel - it is approx 4km away!

There is no train station nearby (that refers to Holiday Inn Express Slough), no shopping malls, or proper restaurants. However, the friendly staff were happy to show us maps (printed from Google maps with hard to read directions) on how we can walk to the nearest train station so we can get to Windsor. We opted for a cab (£10) to go visit the castle. After visiting the castle, we found the surroundings there more pleasant, and worthwhile, that we checked out the same day (barely 2 hours in our room). However, we paid for a full night's stay including an extra £50 for cancelling our second night.

I'm sorry to say the location for this hotel is just terrible for tourists. If you're stopping over for the night in between flights, it's a fantastic location - less than 15 minutes to Heathrow Airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Slough-Windsor, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Xine139,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are sorry you were not well satisfied with the location of our hotel. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly for improvements. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and were extremely impressed with EVERYTHING! The food was absolutely delicious and great value for money specially the kids buffet. The rooms were lovely and clean, air con was a delight! Loved how the 2 rooms were joined also so the kids could go in and out when they pleased. We stayed here as we were going to Legoland and its an easy and quick route from the hotel to the park.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 210 and had no complaints at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here through Legoland and booked extra night. Absolutely brilliant. Clean, friendly, modern, good info on tv. Breakfast supberb, good bar prices and food prices, welcome pack for kids and good view with a massive family room. Brilliant for Windsor and a few minutes drive to Legoland. Would recommend and return. Well done guys and a big thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneySheehan, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Slough-Windsor, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We will pass these onto the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a room on the 'executive' floor and it was like a regular room in other hotels I've stayed. The only perceived perk was the free wifi, which again in some hotels came with the regular rooms. The breakfast spread was minimal but it had the essentials. After the room had been cleaned, a used wine glass was left unwashed/unreplaced on the bedside table. The staff were nice and courteous. Overall, there was nothing exciting about the hotel and we'll most likely be staying elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneySheehan, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Slough-Windsor, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your constructive comments. I have passed to the team for their information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you are thinking staying close to Windsor area, don't.
We stay for 1 night and I it was my worst night in a Hotel, the outside temperature was 28 degrees inside the room 35 degrees, if you open the window to let some air in the noise from the Railway Station was terrible, about 11.30 pm, after I complained twice they change me to another room as member of the Holiday Inn IHG Rewards Club I was very disappointed with the explanation about the air conditioning was not working.

Room Tip: You will hear the train at any room in the Hotel. We have room 214 and we were moved to room 701...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneySheehan, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Slough-Windsor, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments, however I believe that you were staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Slough, which is next to the Railway Station.

We are the Holiday Inn Slough Windsor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was one of worst hotels I ever stayed in. Staff highly unorganized, very chaotic with some lack of English. It didn't bother me that much even thou sometimes it could have been perceived as being rude like "what you want" questions. The smell from restaurant was odd and lifts were not working properly (broken buttons with lights off). Only cleaning service was excellent and very polite. There was police patrol/fire brigade entering this hotel few times which was also disturbing. No minibar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneySheehan, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Slough-Windsor, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We are sorry that your expectations was met to the full. However, thank you for your time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Slough-Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Slough-Windsor

Address: 1 Church St, Chalvey, Slough SL1 2NH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Slough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Slough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Slough-Windsor 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Holiday Inn Slough Windsor is set in the heart of the Thames Valley, less than 20 miles from central London, convenient for the M25 and Heathrow. The hotel, located at Jct 6, M4 is near to Windsor Castle and Legoland Windsor. Add to this Eton, Ascot and Windsor Race Courses, then the hotel is the ideal base for your stay. Holiday Inn Slough Windsor offers a warm welcome, outstanding service and friendly staff. With 150 air-conditioned bedrooms, offering ensuite bath and shower, high speed internet access (chargeable), pillow menu and some rooms have a view of Windsor Castle. This friendly hotel offers Kids Stay and Eat Free and whether for breakfast or dinner, the Holiday Inn Slough Windsor s Brasserie offers a range of international cuisine or choose the Bar where light meals and snacks are available, as well as being an ideal place for informal meetings.The Holiday Inn Slough Windsor is well located for Slough Trading Estate, Thames Valley Business Parks and Green Park. The hotel has 4 meeting rooms for up to 40 delegates, all with Wireless Internet, natural daylight and air conditioning. With easy access to the M4, M25 and Heathrow, the hotel is ideal for business meetings.More guests choose the Holiday Inn Slough Windsor because we offer a Great Nights Sleep, Great Value Breakfast and Priority Club Rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Slough-Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Slough-Windsor Hotel Slough
Holiday Inn Windsor Berkshire
Slough Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Slough-Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.