We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but not exactly T5” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Road, Slough SL3 8QB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Slough
Richmond, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but not exactly T5”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Due to a delayed flight from Newcastle and Hotel Hoppa buses that only run every half hour, we arrived quite late in the evening to this hotel. This hotel gives the impression in its name of being an on-airport hotel, but it is in fact a good 10 minutes on the bus outside the airport. (£5 per person on-way on the bus or approx £40 by taxi - we asked as there were no buses due for quite a while when we got to the bus stop)

We had a smooth check-in and found our room easily. It was a very clean and pleasant room with air conditioning that worked effectively and a shower in the bathroom that there was enough space for us to have had a party in!!

The breakfast the following morning was good and plentiful and check-out was again a smooth.

We had 2 issues. Firstly the free wifi was not working. Both of our iPads would connect to the network but were unable to open the log-on page. As we were only there to sleep and catch a flight the next morning we elected not to follow this issue up as the desk staff were all very busy in the evening.

The second thing that we found slightly off-putting was the fact the we were standing in the lobby waiting for the Hotel Hoppa bus to take us back to terminal 5 (from there you have to take the free transfer on the Heathrow Express should you want to go to other terminals), and we found the smell of cigarette smoke to be quite strong. The allowed smoking area is right next to the main door and the smoke tends to linger in the area.

Overall, I think we would use this hotel again, as the room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was good, and we paid a reasonable price for our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    477
    216
    73
    40
See reviews for
306
306
77
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I stayed here for one night whilst in transit. Hotel was fresh, big room with a double bed for me, nice bathroom and a decent breakfast that was included. Shuttle bus every half an hour £4.50 each way which wasn't too bad for London, better than £65 for a taxi, shocking. Get the H55 bus from stand 22 or 23 and it takes you to the door. You can pay for a ticket onboard or at the National Express desk in the terminal building of T5.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The hotel is convenient to Heathrow airport - but plan on about 45 minutes to get to any terminal other than T5. There are not many hotel shuttles at Heathrow - the Hoppa Bus serves the hotels and costs 4.50 GBP each way. The bus makes (1) stop at the marriott before proceeding to T5. The wait for a bus from T5 to T4 was about 20 minutes - but included in the fare of 4.50GBP.
The bar area was good with a good selection.
The room was normal Holiday Inn Express including free wifi. The tv channel selection was good, but no CNN which I expect at American brand international hotels.
As others have commented, the bed was terrible. HI Express - REPLACE the mattresses! That bed was like sleeping on a trampoline. The flooring in bathroom was poor - loose tiles and stained. The desk area was good and convenient for working. Good outlet locations in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear engineer64,

We greatly value your comments and would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is good to know you found our hotel location convenient for your travel needs. I have noted that you experienced inconvenience and discomfort with the bed during your stay and would like to extend my most sincere apologies for this. I have taken note of your comments and your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments and recommendation.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IN
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed here overnight between flights into/out of Heathrow. It was a great hotel: a very clean, comfortable, spacious room, quick check-in and check-out, and a really great breakfast buffet. The staff was notably friendly and helpful, and they also responded quickly by email to my question of how to get to the hotel.

The only slightly difficult thing was the location; it is not near the airport, and the bus that runs to it from Terminal 5 only goes every half hour, so if you miss one (as we did) you have to wait. Moreover, if you are not going into or out of Terminal 5, you will have to take a train to Terminal 5, and the trains are a long walk from all the other terminals. So it is a minimum 1-hour trip from anywhere other than Terminal 5, and possibly quite a bit longer. We were not in a rush, and the value and quality made up for the travel times. I would stay here again in the same situation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahamas
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is served by the hotel hoppa H55 from T5. This route only serves two hotels so it fairly quick. Journey takes 15 to 30 mins pending traffic. The rooms are decently appointed. The bathrooms are compact but adequate. However the beds are on the small side and not very comfortable.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Good hotel, almost more like a full service hotel rather than express. Very easy for motorway. Staff very friendly and courteous. Nice Italian restaurant on site, nice food and service. Altogether a good experience and I would definitely use again!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Take the H55 bus from T5 straight to the door (although expensive £18 Return - convenient runs 1/2 hourly to and from the terminal).

We stayed at either end of long travels in the last two weeks and found the hotel clean, comfortable and convenient. The connecting rooms were ideal (we find them very difficult to get when travelling with 4 young children - a necessity). The staff were friendly and efficient - all hugely important when you are tired and cranky !

Breakfast is busy, as you can expect and not haute cuisine but fills you for the journey ahead.

WIFI a little tempermental but free

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5

Address: London Road, Slough SL3 8QB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Slough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Slough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Heathrow terminal 5 hotel is ideally located close to the major motorways - M4, M25, M40 - providing easy access from all directions. The Holiday Inn Express London Heathrow T5 is well positioned for touring the local tourist attractions such as Windsor and its historic Castle, Henley and the theme parks at Legoland and Thorpe Park. For sporting or concert enthusiasts, Twickenham Rugby Stadium and the Wembley Stadium and Wembley Arena are within easy reach. The Holiday Inn Express London Heathrow is just 4 miles from terminal 5 and the official shuttle service operates regularly to\from the terminal 5. (Tickets £4.50 For adults. One child aged 5 years to 15 years can travel free with every fare paying adult. Travel is free for children aged under 5 years.) The hotel near Windsor (and Slough) has 300 en-suite bedrooms, a choice of dining options including air conditioned guest lounge\bar. Onsite parking available (charge applies) and throughout the hotel there's wireless internet access (free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Heathrow t5 Hotel Slough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.