We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premier Inn's food retailer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of beefeater

beefeater
Stanborough Road, Welwyn Garden City AL8 6DQ, England
+44(0)1707 391345
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Premier Inn's food retailer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

very nice food, well cooked, nice staff and well presented. Beefeater's used to be very well known but somewhere along the line they lost favour - hopefully if they keep this standard of food, cleanliness and friendly staff they hould make a come back.
Just one dissapointment - - Beefeater - More Beef choices on the menu please especially steaks

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    26
    10
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Not The Best Steaks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Close to Welwyn Garden City one does need a car to get there. Upon arrivel the staff were running around like headless chickens ! we were taken to our table ware we were met by the waiter who could of been to the American Dinner school.(fake) my steak was tough the french fries were cold not the steakhouse i would recommend in the Welwyn Garden City area there are much better staek restaurants than this one.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The worst place on earth with a headless chicken of a boss!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This establishment is that of a utter madness! I went for a family meal of 5 on friday and was seated by a male whom called himself phil, he offered us no drink and told me son to shut up while he asked me what I wanted to eat! I was gobsmacked!! The food was cold and tasted rancid! Another waitress, addressed herself as Mel and kindly took over and tried to rectify his mistakes! She was very polite but the night was already ruined by the manager Phil merely due to the fact of his utter bluntness and sheer rude tounge! Needless to say I shall be informing your head office! This establishment was a huge let down and I suggest no one is to go here..great dissapointment!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“50% off = poor service for 100% customers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

due to a local special offer the restaurant was packed, unfortunately the management didnt think to bring in more staff....
I have to wait 10 min to be seated, 15 mins for the waitress to arrive, 25 mins for my microwaved starter (cold on the outside scalding on the inside) to arrive minus the drink I ordered. The main (classic burger) arrived with the wrong and cold chips and the 4 ingredients in the burger were at 4 different temperatures ranging from fridge cold to room temperature.

I've only given then a 1 because it wont let me give 0

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Limited choice from the new menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The menu recently changed and to be honest not in a good way! The food is ok but to be limited to a choice of chicken, steak, ribs or one type of fish for a restaurant that really does not cook from fresh etc is strange! It's ok don't get me wrong, just limited and e value well at £13 average for a meal with no drink and £5.50 for a kids meal, you may say you'd rather go to TGIs as the quality and choice and portion size is far more superior!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed beefeater also viewed

Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 

Been to beefeater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage beefeater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.