We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good one !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City to your Saves list
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City
Stanborough Road, Welwyn Garden City AL8 6DQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Malham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Another good one !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights while on business, the lady on reception was very efficient.
The room I was in was immaculate, clean and warm
I did not use the bar next door so can't comment
I will stay here again when in the area

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    126
    28
    13
    8
See reviews for
109
78
14
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fairford
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Start with the hotel, it's a premier inn, rooms Clean, bathroom clean and functional. The staff were extremely welcoming, helpful and very friendly.
Our room was adjacent to the railway line and as this is the main east coast line it is 24/7, as it's winter we kept windows closed but still heard the trains throughout the night, if it's the summer heaven knows?
I booked a meal deal for 22.95 each that gives a 3 course evening meal plus a drink and breakfast. I carefully checked the menu on line and it appeared that the full beefeater menu was available so I duly booked. On check in I was given the meal deal menu which turned out to be a cut down version. In essence it was adequate but very misleading. Food was ok and standard beefeater fare, however the whoe package cst 108.00 which is about 30.00 cheaper than a 4 star hotel we stay at in hendon which is about 10 times better value. Still,it was a bit more local and a premier inn.
My advice, check the meal deal before you book.

Room Tip: Don't have a room near the railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I've stayed a number of times at the Welwyn Garden City Premier Inn now, and overall they have all been good experiences. This hotel was fully refurbished earlier in the year, as the rooms are to a good standard. Staff are also friendly and helpful.

As with other Premier Inn's, 30 minutes free wi-fi is included, and access for 24 hours is £2, which isn't bad.

Breakfast is of a good quality, and good value for money.

Bedroom cost at only £29 if you book in advance, it's exceptional value for money.

The service and quality of food at the adjoining Beefeater, isn't as good.

Room Tip: In the summer avoid rooms overlooking the railway line (no air con)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I was a bit hesitant initially staying at the Premier Inn - I was travelling on business and being december alot of other hotels were fully booked.

I have to say though was pleasantly surprised. Parking was good, welcome was good. The staff were lovely and couldn't speak highly enough of them. very helpful aswell. The rooms were clean and comfortable, wifi was good also. Breakfast was also very high standard better than some 4 star hotels I have stayed in.

The restaurant was also good and again staff were great.
Will definately return if visitng this area again. Only complaint would be the price. Can be a bit expensive if staying for a few nights, but assuming its the time as busy season! But value for money wise, it is good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stay in many Premier Inn's because it's my companies hotel of choice for business accounts, the Welwyn Gardens has to be one of the cleanest i've stayed in so far and the staff appeared to be genuinely happy - not the false smile you some times see.

The rooms are the typical Premier Inn, clean, tidy, warm and a comphy bed. As usual the food is served from an adjoing public house (Beefeater), but again this was clean, tidy and friendly with good quality food.

I have read some of the other reviews complaining, but i have never had a cold shower (well except when i turned the heat mixer tap the wrong way)
- Fire Alarms ? please remember, these are compulsary and actual fires aren't scheduled - what would you rather have, well trained staff or total confusion. Hearing fire alarms at least give methe comfort that fire drill are taking place or (as in most cases) its becaue someone's decided to have a ciggy in their rooms or leaft the bathroom door open when having a shower and you cannot blame premier inns for that

Room Tip: All rooms are the same high quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Receptionist on arrival was sullen, disinterested and explained nothing about services or usual guarantees. There was no hot water the next morning and its been a while since I had to take a cold shower. The fire alarm went off at 07:45 and 08:05 no directions or checks carried out. This was one of the poorest stays we have had in a premier inn. On the plus side the room and bathroom were spotless.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn our main objective remains to deliver a high level of customer service in all our establishments. We apologise for the service you experienced at our hotel.

Your comments have been noted and will be duly investigated by both Head Office and the Management Team at our hotel.

Please be assured at Premier Inn we take the service provided to all our guests very seriously and your feedback will be duly followed up.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina

Social Media Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed for two nights - v comfortable and clean rooms - overall quality is good. Everything seemed very new and was well maintained. Good staff. Above average for a budget hotel. Car alarm went off at 3.15 am - but that's not the hotel's fault. Breakfast was a bit average - not great but ok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City

Address: Stanborough Road, Welwyn Garden City AL8 6DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Welwyn Garden City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Welwyn Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel Welwyn Garden City
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hertfordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.