We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, great food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tewin Bury Farm Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tewin Bury Farm Hotel to your Saves list
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hertford Road (B1000) | Near Welwyn, Welwyn Garden City AL6 0JB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely location, great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent food, extremely well presented, not over-priced. Great menu choices and good value for money. Very friendly and attentive staff. My first visit there and will certainly not be my last - loved it! Didn't stay at hotel - just went for lunch but it is a lovely setting.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeeAch2015, Front Office Manager at Tewin Bury Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Fantastic review! Thank you for taking your time to review us. We are also delighted to know that you enjoyed your lunch with us.
We look forward to seeing you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    49
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
50
80
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here on a groupon deal including room, breakfast and dinner. We stayed in the Fisherman room which was very nicely done out with a pretty view of the garden. The food in the restaurant was very tasty and there was live music which was a nice touch. The bartender made fantastic cocktails which he explained to us and made it look like an art form. Breakfast was also great and everything you would want. We used the facilities at the nearby spa which had a great pool with several jets and steam rooms to choose from.
Things we could suggest as improvements are;
- You normally get robes in the bedrooms at higher rated hotels
- shower gel in the rooms as not many people like soap these days
- dry towels offered to take the spa (we had to use our damp ones from our room)
All in all a lovely stay and we would recommend staying here for a romantic break or a family stay. Beautiful grounds for walking and several games in the garden for children such as giant Jenga and croquet.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeeAch2015, Front Office Manager at Tewin Bury Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Groupon deal was indeed very popular this time round. We also thank you for the few things you have suggested in your review as improvement and we will surely take that on board.
Thank you once again as we look forward welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a great visit with my family last week. The sun was shining, no weddings so we got to walk around with our two little boys.
Beautiful surrounding!
Staff at service was outstanding, very formal and asked for more tea and checking to make sure we was ok every 10 mins! Even one lady helped pick up my sons toys that as toddlers go they love to throw ! Lol very kind.
I felt proper English and the Tea was Superb the finger sandwiches and cakes were so delightful.

Highly recommend for afternoon tea! :)

We also ordered some Bucks Fizz which made it more enjoyable on a sunny day!!

Thanks

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeeAch2015, Front Office Manager at Tewin Bury Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted to know that your experience with us was a great one. We at Tewin Bury Farm always try to go that extra mile for our guests and very glad that this was noticed my you.
Thank you once again!
We look forward to seeing you in the not so long future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I could not recommend Tewin Bury and their staff more highly.
Right from the very first meeting, they were friendly, helpful and very professional. They also provided a number of contacts for us (band, photographer etc) who were all first class.
The assistance on the day was outstanding, even to the point of suggesting some minor changes to the order of proceedings (which we tink may have prevented a disaster).
Also, the wedding breakfast was of the highest quality that we have experienced when catering for large numbers - it was superb!
Congratulations to all at Tewin Bury. I can understand why you're booked up well in advance!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeeAch2015, Front Office Manager at Tewin Bury Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you very much for your time taking to review us. We are delighted to know that we were able to provide you with all that you needed. A very big thank you also for your kind recommendation we very much appreciate this.
We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Delightful lunchtime setting to celebrate a special birthday. Food, service and ambiance all excellent. Can highly recommend for dinner, weddings and special party events. Lovely outdoors setting on warm days.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeeAch2015, Front Office Manager at Tewin Bury Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We are delighted to learn that your experience with us was a great one. Thank you very much for your review.
We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This restaurant of the hotel was the venue for a birthday lunch for my sister - She has been here a couple of times before.. We went straight for main courses, and had either roast beef or lamb. Service good to start with, as was the presentation of the food - Good size Yorkshire, two thick slices of beef or lamb and three roast potatoes and gravy. Strangely, no salt and pepper on any of the tables around us, so we had to ask!

Veg served separately, French beans, carrots and greens, two bowls brought to the table which was a bit meagre between 5 of us, so we asked for more and extra gravy which was brought as we were halfway through the main, but eaten anyway to bulk out our plates. Service went a little downhill from here. We all ordered desserts, but over 20 minutes passed and no sign of them. One of our party asked why the delay and was told they were on the way, another 5 minutes went by and then the waiter bought them out, but tried to deliver them to a neighbouring table! Luckily we saw him and called him over. This slightly impacted on our enjoyment level, but the food was of a good standard and hot, but glad we asked for more veg (Not charged for) Otherwise we would have left a little hungry.

Room Tip: Didn't stay here - just went for lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeeAch2015, Front Office Manager at Tewin Bury Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking your time to review on William's and Bar restaurant. We appreciate your feedback. I am also dissapointed to learn that eventhough the service in the our Restuarant had started well, There were few things which went wrong. My sincere apologies on behalf of the hotel and hope that this has not ruined your visit with us in general. I will be passing on your feedback to the relevant department for this to be learnt from.
We look forward to welocming you back to Tewin Bury farm hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel to get away for my birthday. The grounds and beautiful and the rooms are a fair size, clean, the showers are great and the beds are so comfortable. The first night we had afternoon tea which was delicious and cocktails at the bar till very late because tanzin was so friendly and makes fantastic cocktails! It was perfect way to see in my birthday. Thankyou tanzin! The second night we had dinner which was amazing and again had more cocktails where gill looked after us, she was funny and easy to talk to, which was a great way to finish our stay, again thankyou! Over all I had a fantastic time and would recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeeAch2015, Front Office Manager at Tewin Bury Farm Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Fantastic Review!
Thank you for taking your time to review us. We will also be passing on your message to Tanzin and Gill. We are glad to know that your experince with us was great.
We look forward to seing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tewin Bury Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tewin Bury Farm Hotel

Address: Hertford Road (B1000) | Near Welwyn, Welwyn Garden City AL6 0JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Welwyn Garden City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Welwyn Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tewin Bury Farm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tewin Bury Farm is a small, independent, four star hotel and conference centre. Set alongside the river Mimram and within 490 acres of farm land, it conveniently sits 25 miles north of London in the beautiful Hertfordshire countryside.Owned and run by the Williams family, we take great pride in offering traditional values of good service with the modern comforts to be expected of an established AA 4 star venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Tewin Bury Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tewin Bury Farm
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tewin Bury Farm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.