We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful - Never again!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The East - Stanborough

The East - Stanborough
Great North Road, Welwyn Garden City AL8 7TB, England
+44 1707266288
Improve this listing
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awful - Never again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Have to agree with other reviews... Tasteless slop on plate, miserable waitress - never asked if food was any good, no smile, no customer service. Allowed young children to run riot around restaurant at 9.30pm. Table was left unlaid. Wish we had walked out! We will never visit again!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    22
    24
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I love this restaurant, I have been multiple times over the last few years with my boyfriend, friends and colleagues and they have all loved the food. It is of a much higher quality than any of the other Chinese restaurants we've tried in the area.

I've not tried any dish that is anything less than delicious, particular favourites of mine are the sesame prawn toast and chicken teriyaki.

Would definitely recommend. The only negative thing I can think to say is that sometimes it can be a little chilly inside so if something could be done about this it would be better for the winter months. It's also not the cheapest, but you get what you pay for.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is one of the best Chinese restaurants in the area. The food is delicious and plentiful. The ingredients are of a high quality and the food always tastes fresh. Great place for a meal with friends, a quite date or a celebration. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simple but effective.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a great little Chinese restaurant on the Welwyn/Hatfield border by Stanborough Park.
What this place offers is a simple classic chinese menu not to big in choice but each dish we had was cooked beautifully.
Be under no illusions though the restaurant is expensive and if you order one dish with side you will probably go away hungry so over order, you can always take some home.

We ordered

Sal-le Pepper Squid £5.20
Dim Sum £4.80
Sizzling Fillet of Beef £11.50
Garlic Prawns £9.80
Fried Rice for two £5.60
Drinks bill was £12 (four large soft drinks)

Food was perfect, service was effeciant although not with a smile and I was not happy with the 12.5% service charge being added to the bill. I prefer to decide weather or not to leave a tip and if so how much

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Miserable waitress no smile bit my sister's head off when she said for bottled coke table not cleaned after main course. Ordered beef in black bean sauce pieces of beef so small. Did not ask us if the food as all right.
This is local to us however will not step foot here again. Decor very dark.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The East - Stanborough also viewed

Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The East - Stanborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The East - Stanborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.