We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“seemed abit rushed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ASK Italian

ASK Italian
4/6 Howards Gate, Welwyn Garden City AL8 6BQ, England
01707 372 902
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Welwyn Garden City ASK Italian restaurant is found in the very heart of the town and is popular dining destination amongst families and groups of friends. The a la carte menu is extensive and features a good range of authentic stone baked pizzas as well as a delicious array of pasta dishes, from crayfish, crab and smoked salmon ravioli to a classic homemade lasagne. Those with a sweet tooth will love the dessert list, especially the Chocolate Nemesis, a delicious chocolate pudding filled with hot chocolate sauce and served with vanilla ice cream. Forming part of the highly successful ASK Italian restaurant franchise, this Welwyn Garden City outlet offers a casual and affordable dining experience.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“seemed abit rushed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The meal its-self was nice, but i felt very rushed, soon as i had finished my meal my plate was taken away and the bill brought straight to me. It wasnt busy being a saturday daytime.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    20
    13
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good value Italian from a chain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Nice staff, good food and great value for money. When we mentioned that the rocket salad was in fact spinach ,which actually was very nice too they offered us puddings free of charge

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Mother's day - not a good experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I attended last on mother's day 2011. It was a disaster and i have not returned since. I had previously visited numerous times and generally had had an average time.
One my last visit (considering it was mothers day) the waitress was rude and spoke as i was still taking off my coat and sitting down so i never did catch the specials quickly reiterated in a foreign accent I barely understood even when paying full attention. I went with my two sons and my partner.
The main course tasted okay but when we ask for the dessert menu was told that the kitchen was now closed.
I did have words which lead to an verbal argument between myself and the waitress.

Not a place to go for special occasion (was a last minute decision arrangement by my partner) maybe for a quick lunch or dinner it would be sufficient. I would not return to this branch, but would probably give another branch a go.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

As usual ASK delivers, good service and good food who can ask for more, it's always nice to find that a chain of restaurants can consistently bring up the standards no matter which branch you enter.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Ask is good quality at a reasonable price all over the Uk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I have visited many locations of ask and the food is always good at a reasonable price.They change the menu choice and its not just pasta that they do,some of their other dishes such as fish is very good.Check the menu choice online before you go and always look for their vouchers on line

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ASK Italian also viewed

Hertford, Hertfordshire
 
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Saffron Walden, Essex
 

Been to ASK Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ASK Italian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.