We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Guest House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ash Farm Country Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ash Farm Country Guest House to your Saves list
Ash Farm Country Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Park Lane | Little Bollington, Altrincham WA14 4TJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Altrincham B&B and Inns
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Guest House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a lovely Guest House set in a beautiful garden, very easy located for Manchester, felt very welcome by Janice and David everything about the room and breakfast was explained fully, the room was spotless and very comfortable with everything you could need for your stay, Breakfast was outstanding and the pub next next door is very friendly and does very good food, There is a separate lounge you can sit in and a beautiful garden with plenty of seating, I spend over a 100 nights a year in different accommodation and locations in the UK, this has now become one of my favourites.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    19
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
75
15
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ware, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights as part of our visit to RHS Tatton in July. Immediately we parked we were met and greeted by David who showed us around and got us settled in.

We have been going to Tatton for at least 8 years and we have tried out a number of different locations in terms of the proximity to the Flower Show and the general accommodation and dining experience. For us this is the best one. Turn left out of the country lane and then it is a short distance to the roundabout over the M56 and once round it is the second left turn and you are on the road to Tatton. Easy.

In terms of accommodation we were on the first floor and had the room with the 7 foot bed which was enormous and very comfortable, a TV, sitting area plus bathroom and wifi. The view is out over the garden and then onto open fields. Parking is close by.

The b+b is set in a rural location with views over the fields at the front and is close to a canal. It is next door to the Swan with 2 Nicks which serves flavoursome beers and very tasty meals especially the chilli which I have with chips! It is a popular pub and many people come to dine. It is a great bonus having it next door. Even with the windows fully open on a summer's evening we had no problems with noise.

Breakfast is ordered the night before and was well cooked and very tasty.

All in all we enjoyed our time at Ash Farm with the added bonus that it is run by snooker legend David Taylor who still has a full sized snooker table in one of the converted barns. Thnk you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We did not feel very welcome as our hostess (Janice I think) rushed off as soon as we had reached our room without telling us how to contact her. I had 2 problems with the room which I then had to sort out myself as I couldn't find her again - I think she lives in another building.
Ash Farm only has 4 rooms, so it's really annoying that they leave forms in your room instructing you to complete the night before saying what you want for breakfast. What are they afraid you are going to ask for at breakfast time in a small B&B in Cheshire? They didn't actually talk to us to ask how we wanted our eggs cooked (eg hard or soft) and the waitress scurried away without checking if the breakfast order was OK and without giving anyone a chance to ask for mustard or sauce. It didn't help that my breakfast order was wrong (twice).
This B&B is in a lovely spot and it might have welcoming before, judging from previous reviews, but we got the impression that guests had now become an inconvenience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland OH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Ash Farm last week for one night. The hosts (who actually were filling in for the vacationing owners) could not have been more accommodating and friendly. They were wonderful! The building is old and quite romantic. (If you are looking for modern conveniences such as black-out curtains or air conditioning, you won't find it here.) Altogether a very nicely run place. It is wonderful to walk around the beautiful neighborhood, and the pub next door was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We recently had a five night stay at Ash Farm.
The owners had gone away on holiday and left two good friends to look after us....Ros and Teri the "showgirls". Their hospital was second to none and their breakfasts some of the best we have had.
The location of this guest house is lovely, right by a canal , in the country with a pub literally next door thats serves very good food.
It is a convenient place to stay with the tram service to central city only a few miles away.
As for the roooms they were well kept and very comfortable...a home from home.
Thanks again girls for your company.

John and Christine

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Three of us stayed as Ash Farm recently and we were very satisfied with the standard of cleanliness and ambiance of our rooms. The Farm was so delightful and in such a lovely location. The breakfast was plentiful and the fresh fruit was delicious.David and Janice were lovely people. We had a pub meal at The Swan with Two Nicks and again the food was great and the staff were very pleasant. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I regularly use this B&B for business trips and always receive a warm welcome from David and Janice. The standard of the rooms (having stayed in most of them at some point) is very good - clean and with comfortable beds and everything you'd need or want supplied. The breakfasts are of a very high standard with many home-made elements and a real attention to detail.
It doesn't sound like the same place that MummyBumbles stayed in at all - I have certainly never seen a muddy farm dog!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ash Farm Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Farm Country Guest House

Address: Park Lane | Little Bollington, Altrincham WA14 4TJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Altrincham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Altrincham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ash Farm Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ash Farm Country Guest House perfectly situated in Cheshire only 10 miles from Manchester and 6 miles from Manchester International Airport. Beautifully appointed en-suite bedrooms with either a bath or power shower, tea/coffee making facility, colour TV and freeview, wireless internet, hairdryer, trouser press, iron and bath robes plus complimentary toiletries. All bedrooms enhanced by stunning views over National Trust countryside. Residents lounge and breakfast room where we serve full English local produce breakfast of your choice - both rooms with open log fires. Within 5 minutes walking distance to two country pubs also Dunham Massey Hall and Park and Bridgewater Canal. Ample parking for guests (leave your car when departing from the airport - local taxi pounds 14.00 one way). All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ash Farm Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Farm Country Guest House Hotel Altrincham
Ash Farm Country Guest House Altrincham, Cheshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ash Farm Country Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.