We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A top draw in the Manchester area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunham Massey Hall & Gardens

Dunham Massey Hall & Gardens
Charcoal Lane | Altrincham, Altrincham WA14 4SJ, England
44-161-941-1025
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Attractions in Altrincham
Type: Historic Sites, Parks, Cultural
Attraction details
Kochi (Cochin), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A top draw in the Manchester area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Dunham Massie Hall and Gardens is an amazing place for a day trip from Manchester! Its in Altringham and sign posted. The National Trust is doing a great job in maintaining the former home of the 10th Earl of Warrington and its magnificent gardens where families can enjoy a picnic on the manicured lawn. There are also tame Fallow Deer grazing nearby and Canada geese and assorted ducks on the adjacent pond. The former Earl's wife, Lady Stamford offered part of the house as an auxilliary hospital during the First World War and on its centenary the ward has been reconstructed complete with actors providing dramas of what actually happened when seriously injured soldiers were brought from the horrendous trenches in northern France and Belgium. There is a replica operating theatre with commentary by one of the nurses who assisted the surgeons. Most of the house is open to the public where one can see how it was furnished in the early 19th century. The rose garden is particularly worth a wander round.

Emperor Haile Selassie of Ethiopia was a guest there in 1938 in connection to the Earl's interest in the League of Nations when the Emperor was trying to get foreign powers to intervene to prevent Mussolini from invading his country. They ignored him and Italy invaded but were kicked out five years later with British assistance.
There is of course a tea room and cafe and a well-stocked shop and a huge car park.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    207
    34
    17
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“a lovely day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had a lovely afternoon out here. We had bought tickets for an outdoor production of Pirates of Penzance so decided to turn up early and visit the attractions as well. The first thing we saw was the sawmill where we were given an interesting short talk about how it worked and learnt where the phrases top dog and under dog orginated. We then went around the house which is currently converted into a World War 1 hospital. The exhibitions were excellent and it was great to see the amount of research that had been done to try to find out about the soldiers who were treated there. We then walked around the gardens which are quite small but stunning, especially the rose garden. Next we wandered around the park and especially enjoyed the avenues. I liked the fact that some areas were allocated as deer sanctuaries although the deer didn't seem to be at all worried about people. I suppose they may like to get away from the endless cameras sometimes!
We then went back to the car park, collected our picnic and returned to the garden ready for the performance which was absolutely excellent. Illyria, the theatre company performed it with just 7 actors and they were brilliant.
So, well done National Trust, not only for the property itself but for your fantastic choice of entertainment as well.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Closed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Wanted to take our grandchildren to the World War Hospital at Dunham
They were CLOSED on Thursdays and Fridays..This is the summer holiday season for schools This is not what we expect from The National Trust.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent WWI exhibition at present”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Soldiers were taken here as it was used as a hospital so they have set up a "ward" with actors so you can see how it was.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Stunning, despite the patchy rain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We are keen NT members although this was our first visit to Dunham Massey. There is a lot to like about Dunham Massey, from the minute you pick up the brown road signs providing directions

Dunham Massey(village)
Quaint and with a lovely ambience. Houses in the style of brickwork similar to the main attraction, and hanging baskets a plenty.

Dunham Massey(House etc)

Entrance
Well signed and greeted by an affable chap in the car park booth who gives direction on where to park, and wishes us a pleasant visit. Good start.

Signs
Plenty of signs, and maps with directions in the car park. We have our bearings and move on confidently.

Reception
NT membership cards needed. We receive a card that can be date stamped and an invitation to view the house.Cardboard cards (coin shaped) are provided to show our admittance to the house can take place between 12 noon to 12.10pm

Grounds
We take a long walk in the grounds observing various forms of wildlife. Families could bring a picnic and find a quiet spot; we will bring our dogs next time and find a quiet spot. The bit to the south described as a park must be the biggest area of lawn we have ever seen.

House
The use of the house as an army hospital evokes a poignant feeling, as I lost an uncle in the great war who I am named after. The reconstruction of the hospital beds together with the equipment used at the time, and temperature charts etc, is visually stunning. Add the medicine cupboards, the operating room and numerous other exhibits including an abundance of family pictures; this exhibition is the best we have ever seen. We will be going back when it is a little quieter.

Stables Restaurant (very busy at 1pm)
Two soups, two scones and two drinks came to 10p short of £20; tasty but expensive. What the heck, the exhibition more than makes up for this

Staff
Polite, helpful, friendly, Frankly they could not do enough for you and they are a credit to the NT.

Exit
We had a lovely warm feeling throughout our visit and were more than satisfied with the events of the day when we left. Thanks must also go to Lady Stamford, one remarkable person.

Summary
We would urge as many people as possible to view what is on offer, even if the intended visit takes place in 2015

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunham Massey Hall & Gardens also viewed

 
Disley, Cheshire
 

Been to Dunham Massey Hall & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunham Massey Hall & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.