We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunham Massey Hall & Gardens

Dunham Massey Hall & Gardens
Charcoal Lane | Altrincham, Altrincham WA14 4SJ, England
44-161-941-1025
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Altrincham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
sandbch
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Being in the national trust we visit on a monthly basis to admire the beautiful ever-changing gardens.We recently the house as it had a brilliant display of a war time hospital which was great.The food is always very good and prices reasonable.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    233
    40
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“don't miss the exhibition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We visited here specifically too see the recreation of the hopsital, which Dunham Massey became in WW!.
It's on through to next year and well worth seenig.
It doesn get very busy though, we went on a Monday and it was packed!
The rest of the house is open as before and the gardens are absolutley lovely.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

It was so very relaxed, brillaint for family's with young children, facilities are excellent - would highly recomenf

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Dunham Massey Stamford Hospital”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

As you drive into the car park and pass the entrance to the visitor centre have a look at the length of the queue and if it’s long and you are travelling with others let somebody out to join the queue whilst you look for a space and park the car as it could save quite a bit of time as entry to the house is now (correct 14th April) on a timed entry system. We had to wait over 2 hours in-between getting our tickets and going into the house. We also got tickets to the gardens which took us approx an hour and a quarter to walk around and then had a lap around the deer park which took us to within 10 minutes of our allotted time.

As is well documented the house is now dressed as a hospital as it was during the war complete with a few special effects and a couple of actors.

No guided tour but the first room in the house which used to have information about the family now has information pertaining to the house during the war period. Gets a bit crowded even with the timed entry delay so we didn’t spend much time in here today. Main differences as you walk around the house are that the main hall/gallery is now set up with a piano and tables for games etc. The chapel off here was closed during our visit. There is an operating theatre set up in what is essentially a corridor and then the saloon houses the beds. The billiard room is also converted and then there are some more rooms with exhibits and letters etc. The rest of the house is as it always is.

In all it was very interesting and although there is no guided tour there is always someone in each room who will happily answer any questions you may have.

As usual for a NT property this size there is a golf buggy close to the visitors centre to ferry anyone who may be unable to walk through the visitors centre and courtyard to the main house.

Pictures taken with ipod so low resolution.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good exhibition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stamford Hospital Exhibition worth a visit.
Grounds pleasant.
Entrance fees and refreshments bit expensive.
Rose Garden in a DREADFUL state.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunham Massey Hall & Gardens also viewed

Knutsford, Cheshire
Disley, Cheshire
 

Been to Dunham Massey Hall & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunham Massey Hall & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.