We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunham Massey Hall & Gardens

Dunham Massey Hall & Gardens
Charcoal Lane | Altrincham, Altrincham WA14 4SJ, England
44-161-941-1025
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Altrincham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazing time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We visited Dunham Massey before the house was open, so as to get the best opportunity to see the snowdrops. On arrival we went straight to the Winter Garden, only in existence since 2009. We were issued with a map and spent about two hours strolling round the network of paths, taking in all the snowdrops and other flora. It is peaceful, interesting and a generally wonderful place to be. I should point out that we are NT members, there is a fee for non-members.

After a great time in the gardens, we went into the parkland, the relative wilderness of which contrasts perfectly with the managed, creative designs of the garden. There are a number of paths through the parkland (some lead off the property to nearby villages if you're feeling adventurous). So, great scope for walks here, always keeping an eye out for the resident deer. We were nearly back to the house after seeing one deer, but then we happened upon a herd of maybe 100 deer. They crossed the path in front of us, an organised procession. The visit was worth it if this was all we had seen.

An honourable final mention for the restaurant, which, while it tends towards being busy, has a wide range of excellent drinks and snacks. Downstairs is one of the bigger NT shops, with a good range of interesting and high quality products.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    232
    40
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love Durham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

This place is GREAT, I've visited regularly since I was a child, when Earl Stamford still lived there. He was am eccentric man and interesting.
The National Trust have done soooooooo much to it, we love it as a family.
Boilerbill there is a smooth disable path straight to the toilets from the entrance archway. I used to take my mum in her wheelchair. What a shame you had a bad experience. Did you phone first to enquire?
The tickets you get from near the archway.
Thank you NT for looking after Durham.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great morning out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Me and my partner visited Dunham Massey on a bright winters morning, it was cold but this was counteracted by the beautiful surroundings. £5 for parking which is standard for non national trust holders. However it would cost an additional £7 for entrance to the house and gardens....which we skipped on. Instead we walked around the lovely grounds, we stumbled upon some fallow deer which was brilliant. the area was very clean and not too busy. A perfect destination for a romantic stroll (non-peak times) would recommend a visit to anyone, however Lyme Park still wins it for me.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charnock Richard, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“beautiful garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

the winter garden is magnificent and well worth a visit at any time of year.there is nothing at all to dislike

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“DUNHAM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

everything is beautiful in this quiete pretty village , take a walk then have a nice lunch / evening meal in a handful of choice restaurants/pubs

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunham Massey Hall & Gardens also viewed

Knutsford, Cheshire
Disley, Cheshire
 

Been to Dunham Massey Hall & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunham Massey Hall & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.