We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Altrincham Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Altrincham Lodge to your Saves list
Altrincham Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manchester Road | West Timperley, Altrincham WA14 5NH, England (Formerly Premier Inn Altrincham - North)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Altrincham
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not bad for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

We only booked this hotel because is was cheap (<£40 per night) so we weren't expecting much.

The positives:
- the bed a comfortable and clean, with good quality sheets
- it was cheap

The negatives:
- there was mould in the shower (which we were expecting from other reviews)
- breakfast at the pub next door had to be book before 10pm - you couldn't just turn up in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    64
    45
    13
    6
See reviews for
28
75
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sunderland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

A tired hotel, basic and needs a total re vamp. On the whole not bad for a nights stay and cheap so you get what you pay for. However...customer service is non existent. The receptionist offered to pre book a taxi but it never arrived and the taxi company stated no taxi had been booked. There was no apology even after we had to wait 45 mins for another taxi. The night porter said he was not paid enough to deal with complaints proceeded in rolling a cigarette and went outside for a smoke .The next day the receptionist who had originally been on duty still offered no apology and again no hotel manager available. Learn some manners from your cleaning staff !!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltrinchamLodge, Manager at Altrincham Lodge, responded to this review, January 29, 2011
We are amazed that this review has been made about the Hotel when the guests complaint was about the non arrival of a taxi. We have never received a complaint about our customer service we usually receive compliments about our friendly and helpful staff as shown on other reviews here on Tripadvisor. The taxi was ordered at the same time as one for other guests their taxi arrived we do not know why this one did not what we do know is that we are not responsible for the taxi company. The guest ranted and raved at the night receptionist and again at the morning receptionist who would have apologised has she not been shouted at and called a liar. The manager was not on duty this weekend being her days off . We provide a very good service at the Lodge and do not expect to be shouted at when only doing our job. The hotel is being continually refurbished and we do not regard it as cheap. We find the guests comments as extremely insulting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

I am happy to say that in the 4 hours that i spent at Altrincham i was very please with the service... I am from South Africa and had been visiting my boyfriend in Derbyshire, it was my last night in the U.K and was suprised with tickets to the Man United game, and also i was frying back to SA the following morning. when we arrive at the Hotel, i had booked in, got into my room, (which was quite big for the amount i paid, In SA one would pay almost double for that size room) we were informed by the receptionist that we could actually take a tram to old trafford, instead of by car which woyuld have taken far to long. When we returned later that eveing there was a very friendly gentleman on reception, who even allowed my boyfriend to spend a hour or so with me before he had to go back home. In the morning i had gotten my 3h30 wake up call as i had asked for, and he had even called a taxi for me. I will definately be visiting Altrincham again when i come to england again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Room quite small but clean and functional. Comfy bed. Small flatscreen TV. Tea & coffee making bits. Bathroom small but adequate - in need of some redecoration but not the worst I've seen by any means. Very friendly reception staff. Decent food and drink in the adjoining "Pelican - Two for One" pub. Free parking.
If you shop around the hotel trawlers and grab cashback too, it's close to £30 a night, whereas direct with hotel site is £40+.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed at Altrincham Lodge while visiting Manchester for a wedding. At £40 per room per night, we didnt expect a five star hotel. If you,re looking for a short stay, budget hotel, you shouldnt go wrong.
The rooms were basic, but clean and comfortable. Although a little dated, I have stayed in worse more expensive accomodation than this.
The bed was comfy, the bathroom/ toilet clean. The shower was nice and hot so all in all, good value for money.
We had a breakfast the next morning in the adjoining pub (The Pelican). If there was a small fault with the breakfast, it was the poor waitress who seemed to be run off her feet with no sign of other staff to help her.
The £3.99 per head cooked breakfast was adequate and consisted of two rashers of bacon, a sausage, baked beans, a grilled tomato and fried egg. you also get a round of toast and tea or coffee.
As the hotel is only 15 mins drive from Manchester airport, it would make an ideal over nighter before heading off to the airport. The Trafford Centre shops are only about 10 mins away by car and access to the motorways is easy enough.
All in all, dont expect the luxury of a Premier Inn, the hotel is good value for money at £40 per room per night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

My mother and I travelled to Manchester for the Muse gig at LCCC in September 2010 and chose this hotel for both its' proximity to public transport links, and the price. (We managed to book through Hotels.com which undercut the hotel's own room price by £10! ) The tram station is a brisk 10 minute walk around the corner with links into Manchester City Centre every 12 minutes.
The hotel is easy to find, with sufficient parking away from the road. The receptionist was friendly and the room was clean and well equipped with tea and coffee facilities as well as digital television and Free Wifi.
The room benefitted from some quirky extras which made it feel even better value for money- a comfy arm chair and some pretty cushions are all it takes!
The shower was great, although did leak onto the bathroom floor a little. Not a problem as long as you don't leave your towel on the floor!

The adjoining pub provides cheap but tasty food and cheerful service. Frequented by locals, there is a great atmosphere and they open late accordingly.
We did not book breakfast with our room, as at the time it was not available. The hotel now advertise breakfast at the pub who provide a sufficient menu. It is recommended that you book breakfast the night before with the receptionist to get a quicker service.

Overall, a pleasant stay with no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

Bathroom grubby , bits on the carpet around the bed and the old handyman decided to start knocking off the tiles in the bathroom next door at 7:20 in the morning without any warning . On the good side , it is next to a good pub , the Pelican , which supplies good food , good service and good beer ( its only saving grace ) .

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Altrincham Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altrincham Lodge

Address: Manchester Road | West Timperley, Altrincham WA14 5NH, England (Formerly Premier Inn Altrincham - North)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Altrincham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Altrincham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Altrincham Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Altrincham Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altrincham Hotel Altrincham
Altrincham Lodge Cheshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altrincham Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.