We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub near to Manchester Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Romper

Romper
Wilmslow Road | Ringway, Altrincham, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 120 Restaurants in Altrincham
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: w15 8xj
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great pub near to Manchester Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Been quite a few times to this pub and it never disappoints us. In the summer, you can sit outside. There is always a lovely atmostphere. The food is great and the staff are kind with the children. This is a fab place to go to if you are having an overnight stop using the airport. It is really close the viewing area at Manchester Airport - where you can go and see Concord for £5!! (As long as it is not booked up with corporate events) The children got a whistle stop tour of the magnificent plane - which was enough for their ages (5 and 7).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    73
    30
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“could do better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife asked for muchroom soup for starters after a long time waiting she got pea and ham.Main couse i ask for mixed grill , i think i got a childs portion i hide the steak and gammon under a fifty pence piece.Iam glad i wasnt in a hurry the time between the two couses was far to long.The steak knife was to hot to handle.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Romper, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Vince1964_12,

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise about the food which you were served at the Romper. I have passed on your comments to the management team and sent you a direct messaged.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Such slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We went for a meal ...we did not want to be out too long as we had things to do .We arrived at about one forty and left after four !
We ordered our food at the bar as there did not seem to be anyone waiting on tables. We waited abouit half an hour for out main course and three quaters of an hour for our dessert ! We did ask after about half an hour about our dessert but it still took another fifteen minutes for it to arrive when we were just on the point of leaving.
The food was ok but nothing to write home about .
The girl that served us was quite surly but the guy at the till was ok .
I dont think I will be dining here again any time soon .

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Romper, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear gillphil47,

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise about the long wait on your food at the Romper. I have passed on your comments to the management team and sent you a direct messaged.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went for lunch on Sunday and the service was poor to say the least. They presented us with complimentary garlic bread after about an hour saying our food was on the way.I had the Fish pie which was small with a little amount of cold vegetables. Also on our order was scampi and a steak both of which were not exactly what I would call a decent size portion. Will not rush to return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Well done, "The Romper"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Hadn't been to The Romper for along time, but remembered it as a pleasant, traditional style pub. Went last night as a mid-week break from the washing up. If you are in two minds where to go for a good meal out, friendly staff and in nice surroundings, I can highly recommend "The Romper". Although busy, we didn't have to wait long for drinks or meals. The three staff members we had dealings with, during our visit, were chatty and attentive. The meals were of a good size, hot and well presented. I will be putting this pub on the top of my list for a revisit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romper also viewed

Wilmslow, Cheshire
 
Altrincham, Cheshire
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Romper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.