We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good,accommodation dire.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Langham Road, Bowdon, Altrincham WA14 2HT, England (Formerly Bowdon Hotel Altrincham)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Altrincham
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Food good,accommodation dire.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed at the Bowdon Hotel Thursday to Sunday on an all inclusive deal we got on line.From the outside all looks fine but the room we were allocated was at the back of the hotel and badly in need of refurbishment.Although it was clean it had certainly not seen a lick of paint
and the bathroom was mouldy and uninviting.The corridor also smelt of smoke.
Only there for two days we decided to put up with it and make the most of the break.The hotel is situated in Hale, a lovely little town with plenty of shops and eateries and a nice vibe about the place.Our deal consisted of breakfast,lunch,evening meals and unlimited wine and beer between 7pm and 11pm.Good value and the evening meals were pretty tasty.The choice at breakfast was plentiful and the restaurant staff very pleasant and helpful.All in all an enjoyable break but would not visit again unless a refurbished room was available.

Room Tip: Ensure you enquire about a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Somewhat shocked about the room comments as all rooms recently refurbished to a very good standard but regret the room allocated did not meet with expectations. As a point for the future we do have superior rooms on top of standard rooms which are much bigger.
On a brighter note please that dinner and breakfast were to a good standard and that the staff were doing a good job.

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    165
    116
    68
    30
See reviews for
84
189
18
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Booked a weeks car parking, transfers & one night dinner for three. After a long run this was a perfect stop-over, well priced, food of a high standard for £. No hassles only slight downside was the noise from the jacuzzi pump in the pool - you need to get the installers back out it just shouldn't be that noisy. (Note this doesn't affect the accommodation). Difficult initially to raise the taxi firm on return to airport but when I got through they were fine. Perhaps a more direct number for hotel customers? Would I use this again - yes.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write this review and pleased that you had a good stay, will investigate the point you have raised and hopefully eliminate the cause of the noise.

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

stayed at the Bowdon Hotel for the second time this year while on business... wooww its got even better ! New refurbishment made my stay even more enjoyable. You can eat in (food very good) or you can eat in the varied restaurants just round the corner in Hale. Mustn't forget the staff even one remembered me from last time cos then we had had a bit of a chin wag. Staff are all very polite and friendly at all times. Rooms can not be faulted ,i had a great nights sleep. Worth a visit whether on business or just for a mini break. Park your car ar the hotel while you go on holiday stayover then straight to the airport in the morn member of staff told me it was very popular .
Great Hotel Frank ps dont forget you can use tthe Health Club

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Pleased that you enjoyed your stay, hope you will return on future trips to this area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We found this hotel disappointing. The room was small and dark and in the Bowels of the hotel - we wondered if this reflected the fact that we had got a cheap price from Booking.Com. Had an evening meal in the restaurant which could only be described as "adequate" and thought breakfast was poor - a typical hotel breakfast that has been standing around on hot-plates for ages and is semi-warm. The staff seemed to do lots of chatting and service was spasmodic.

We had travelled a long distance and went to bed early because we were tired. Just got to sleep when we were woken by the fire alarms ringing. We got up and dressed and my husband went to Reception to find out more, only to be told it was a false alarm. Unfortunately the staff did not come down into our area of the hotel to tell us that!

We were also not impressed by people standing around the front door area smoking, possibly they had been using the nearby Health Club.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not down at the bottom of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Very much regret that you did not like the romm allocatedbut confused by the comment "in the bowels of the hotel" as we have no such areas.
It is a fact that fire alarms do happen from time to time and we react to each as if it is a real situation for the safety of our guests, I must assume that by the time you arrived at reception we had gathered that there was no emergency or danger and therefore allowed guests to return to rooms, can only aplogise that you were disturbed.
Disappointing to learn that you only found the food to be average, as a general rule we receive lots of praise and compliments but have taken your comments onboard and will be discussing with my food and beverage team for the benefit of future clients - sorry we did not meet your expectations

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Went here on a deal so was good value. Large car park but also within a few minutes walk of the village. Had a large room in the old section. No airconditioning let it down. Expensive breakfast so we went out. Pool area needs a complete revamp. Tiny changing rooms.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the old section of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel because it is just around the corner from my parents (where my children were staying). We checked in on the Friday night and were allocated to a very small room (room 45) with 1 towel and a single wardrobe. I questioned this but was told that the hotel sells this as a double room. We found another towel in the wardrobe but there was nowhere to put our things or our suitcase. My wife is pregnant and couldn't actually move around the bed! We were told we could ask to change the next day as the hotel was full. During the night, we were woken by a copulating couple in the next door room (very loud indeed!). The ceilings seems to be very flimsy and there are holes in the ceilings in the corridor. The hotel was very hot and there is no air conditioning or any fans. The next morning we were shown to a twin room on the top floor (room 277) which looked fine and was a decent size (obviously designed for 2 people). There was a noisy fan outside the room but I was assured that this was turned off at night because, again, you had to have the windows open during the night due to the heat. On our first night in that room, it rained and there was a leak in the room, above the door. On the second night, the fan was not turned off and I had to go and find the night porter at 2am (after much tossing and turning) who turned it off straight away - why this had not been done when clearly the noise affects a good portion of the rooms in the hotel is beyond me. On the plus side, breakfasts were good value and the staff were friendly enough.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Do regret that the client did not like the room but confirm that this was a standard double and the hotel also has Superior rooms which are generally much more spacious but please we were able to more the client to a larger room for the second 2 nights of their stay.
Can be no excuse for our failure to turn off the fans at a much earlier time and very much regret the disturbance I know this must have caused, no consolation now but have taken steps to ensure this does not happen again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, Co Down, Northern Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We have stayed in this hotel on different occasions in the last few years and it has just got better and better.... so we booked it again for our forthcoming trip to Manchester.

The hotel is a short taxi ride (10 mins max) from Manchester Airport so the location was brilliant for us. You have Altrincham town centre only a 10 minute stroll away which has a metro link straight into Manchester City Centre or you have the quaint village of Hale with its dainty shops, bars and restaurants just around the corner from the hotel.

This hotel just recently had a major refurbishment from reception, bar area through to the bedrooms and ensuites all tastefully done and to a high standard. We have stayed in different rooms in the hotel and they all are now superb, spacious, clean and fresh with all the latest mod cons - from flat screen television to the Queen size beds (extremely comfortable) so a great nights sleep made our stay even more enjoyable.

The staff were excellent, friendly and polite from those in reception for our late night check in, to the bar through to dining and house keeping, even the manager Mr. Rodgers made us feel at home when going for breakfast the next morning. You could choose whatever you wanted from this buffet style breakfast - a wide selection of cereals through to a full fry.

This is a first class hotel with great staff and leisure facilities such as an indoor heated pool , sauna and a well equipped gym - free to residents staying in the hotel....!!
Would I recommend this hotel to others - definitely YES

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel

Address: Langham Road, Bowdon, Altrincham WA14 2HT, England (Formerly Bowdon Hotel Altrincham)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Altrincham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Altrincham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel is ideally located for both commerce and leisure in Manchester City Centre and South Manchester including Trafford Park, Sale, Wilmslow and Knutsford. Conveniently close to the M56 and M6 motorways and Manchester International Airport. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Interactive TV (Internet access, PlayStation, Exclusive Movies), hairdryer, trouser press, direct dial telephone, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel Cheshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.