We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Ashley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Ashley Hotel to your Saves list
Britannia Ashley Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ashley Road | Hale, Altrincham WA15 9SF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Altrincham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“You get what you pay for..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had no illusions. The weather was bad and all I could get was a crack of dawn flight. I was tired and did not want to risk an early start and a difficult journey so we booked in to the hotel so we could sleep for six hours before booking in at the airport.
The hotel is hard to find. It's hidden down an alley way behind a shopping arcade. There are steps up to the lift so it's not suitable for the disabled. The staff were polite, but not cultured! The hotel is tired and jaded. The lift door had obscene graffiti scratched into it.
The room was clean, the beds were clean and comfortable . Two beds for £45 for six hours. Not complaining. Don't expect a bargain.

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    36
    50
    41
    91
See reviews for
24
89
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got what we think was a really good deal. Clean and tidy. Bathroom needs regrouting & bath resealing to brighten it up a bit. Comfortable bed and really nice breakfast. Wouldn't pay much more than 70 for a double though.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent one of the worst nights of my life last night in this 'hotel', unable to sleep in a room that stank of smoke (I can't believe any hotel allows guest smoking in this day and age) and was freezing cold (not helped by having to keep window open due to said smoke smell) and noisy (lousy single glazing in a room overlooking the main street). It amazes me that this 1960s monstrosity was ever allowed to be built in the otherwise lovely shopping street, and most of it clearly hasn't seen a lick of paint or new carpet since then. The place is less than salubrious - at £45 for a single room I wasn't expecting the Ritz, but I did at least expect somewhere that I could sleep comfortably. Any sleep I did snatch was haunted by nightmares of being murdered in my bed by some of the dodgy looking individuals who hung around outside the building at night - not helped by the disturbing 'art work' in the room itself which contained two tableaux - one of which depicting the rape of the Sabine women! A colleague staying in a different room had an equally unpleasant sketch of the backside view of a naked woman opposite the bed. We declined the offer of a buffet breakfast for £7 as the thought of eating anything in there made me feel physically ill, and after a rotten night we just wanted to get out. This place is cheap for a reason, and not cheap enough given the state of some of the rooms. They need to close it down for a major refurb, or better still - just bulldoze the whole thing and build something more fitting of Hale and less like Bates' Motel!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms looked clean but very hot. Husband opened the window and it fell out.

We ordered tea for breakfast. The waitress took a Thermos flask from a table that had been used from another table and plonked it down on ours. The tea was stewed and tasted disgusting. Most of the food was out of a tin.

The biggest and most disturbing aspect however was the hundreds of bites that my husband and I found later that day. Doctor told us they were Bed Bug bites!!! We informed the hotel but have not had a reply. To say we are upset it putting it mild. Do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amlwch, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Does what it says on the tin - very well. I stay in a lot of Britannia hotels through choice as they are always good value I can't understand why they get slated - yes they are dated and if you look hard I might evn admit they can be a bit tatty round the edges BUT I seldom pay more than £40 and I get a good nights sleep optional food onsite and free wifi - compare that to Travelodge etc at £50 and if you are lucky there might be a little chef next door. Some Britannias have a swimming pool and gym included, the Ashley however does not but it is well located and clean with free wifi. I lost the keys for my other vehicle when I was there and phoned up to mention this (not holding out a lot of hope for a member of staff to even remember) 2 hours later I was phoned (he had to go through his records to find my number) to say someone had handed in some keys from the car park - he even offered to post them but I was coming back a day later - Thanks ANDREW - your are my receptionist of the month

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014



The receptionist was friendly but the hotel itself is outdated, not too clean and basic.
Wasn't impressed to find left over plasters on the dresser and stains on the walls.

Apart from this the bed was comfy enough and did the job! I wouldn't stay again but it wasn't terrible.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

I'm sat in canteen as I write this wad told last night just before I went into my dirty room with broken shower breakfast served between 7 and 9 its 7.15 now and they have just told me half an hour for breakfast so off to work hungry. I would complain to the staff but if last night is anything to go by they won't be interested anyway.this is by a long shot THE single worst thing I've ever stayed in (I would never call this a hotel). Rubbish rubbish rubbish. Don't do it.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Ashley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Ashley Hotel

Address: Ashley Road | Hale, Altrincham WA15 9SF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Altrincham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Altrincham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Ashley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Ashley Hotel is a modern, comfortable boutique hotel located in a prime location - the village of Hale. 67 cozy rooms, a mouthwatering selection of meals and the friendliest staff await you at the Ashley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Ashley Altrincham
Hotel Britannia Ashley
Britannia Ashley Hotel Altrincham, Cheshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Ashley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.